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The Consumer Comes First
Hello, and thank you for reading the Spring 2015 edition of Insurance Matters, the 
Delaware Department of Insurance e-newsletter that provides insurance information 
about matters affecting Delaware’s families and businesses. While we’re just starting to see 
warm temperatures in our area, the official start of the hurricane season begins June 1. 
There’s a lot you can do now to prepare your family and your home for the strong winds 
and heavy rains that accompany spring and summer storms: clean your gutters, check 
for loose shingles and siding, and assemble an emergency preparedness kit. Review your 
insurance coverage, too, and decide whether you need flood insurance. Recent changes 
have been made to the National Flood Insurance Program which may affect you—see 
pages 6 and 7 in this newsletter for more information. 

The staff at the Department of Insurance is excited to be a part of numerous community 
events to be held across the state in the coming months. Check out the Community 
Calendar, http://delawareinsurance.gov/information/outreach_calendar.shtml, to see a 
list of events we will be attending, including the State Fair from July 23 - August 1.

Whether you’re driving to the beach or just to the Wawa down the street it’s important 
that you remember to buckle your seatbelt at all times! Delaware law enforcement 
agencies will be enforcing the seat belt laws from May 11 - 25 during the annual Click It 
or Ticket campaign. In 2014, there were 35 fatalities in Delaware resulting from crashes 
in which drivers or passengers were not wearing seat belts.  Wearing a seat belt increases 
the chances of surviving a serious crash by 50 percent.

The staff of the Department of Insurance is here to serve you if you encounter any 
problems or need assistance understanding your rights as a consumer. Thank you for 
reading and please share this newsletter with your friends!

Warm Regards,

Karen
Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/contact.shtml
www.delawareinsurance.gov
www.delawareinsurance.gov


For The Love of Dog
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How dogs can affect your homeowners insurance costs
If you’re thinking of getting a new dog, you might 
want to consider checking with your current 
homeowners  (or renters) insurance provider to ask 
if there are any dog breeds that would cause them to 
drop you as a customer. Having a dog of any kind may 
result in at least some increase in your costs, because 
the insurance company is taking on additional risk 
to cover you should your dog bite or injure a person,  
another animal, or damage another person’s property. 
A recent study by the Insurance Information Institute  
found that dog bites comprised more than one-third 
of all homeowner liability claims in 2013, averaging 
about $27,800 per claim. 

You may be tempted to “forget” to report that you 
own a dog to your insurance company in order to 
save a few dollars. That would be a very bad idea; not 
only could you be committing insurance fraud, but 
you might not be covered if your dog causes an injury. 
Some insurance carriers might drop your coverage if 
you own a dog of a certain breed, while others may 
raise the rate more for a specific dog breed that they 
deem dangerous. Each insurance company sets its own  
policies for determining which breeds 
they deem to be a higher risk factor, 
such as a pit bull or Rottweiler. As 
always, be sure to shop around to find 
the best price. Different companies 
may evaluate dog breeds differently 
so prices can vary widely among 
companies. Even if your insurance 
company didn’t ask about dogs on the 
initial application, it is recommended 
that you check with them if you get a 
new dog, just to be safe.

No matter the type of dog you 
have you can take steps to help 
prevent dog bites. The following 

information is provided by the Delaware Department 
of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Health: 
Prevent Dog Bites This Spring: National Dog Bite 
Prevention Week May 17 – 23, 2015

According to a 10-year study in the Journal of the 
American Veterinary Medical Association, nearly half 
of all fatal dog attacks involve young children, and a 
staggering 84 percent of dogs involved in attacks are 
unneutered. In addition, dog mismanagement, such as 
allowing dogs to repeatedly run loose or keeping the 
dog isolated from usual human contact, is a strong 
indicator of the dog’s likelihood to attack.

To prevent dog bites:

• Spay or neuter your dog; spayed or neutered animals 
are less likely to bite. This will also decrease your dog’s 
desire to roam in search of a mate.

• Socialize your dog (from a young age, when possible).

• Teach children how to appropriately approach and 
handle dogs. Many dog-on-human attacks occur with 
small children. 

• Always keep your dog under your control. Obey 
leash laws. Not only is it illegal in 
Delaware to let your dog free-roam, it 
is dangerous for them and for others. 

While media reports tend to focus 
on one breed or another, the reality 
is that breed is not a common factor 
in dog attacks. In over 1,500 reported 
dog bites in Delaware in 2014, more 
than 80 different breeds and mixed 
breeds of dogs were represented, of all 
shapes and sizes. Every dog, regardless 
of breed, size, or familiarity with the 
victim, has the propensity to bite if the 
right set of circumstances is present.



Have you heard of Usage Based Insurance?
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Safer Driving = Discount?

Everyone likes to save money,  and you may be able to 
lower your auto insurance premiums if you can prove 
that you’re a safe driver, or that you don’t drive very 
many miles. There are now numerous auto insurance 
companies offering different forms of Usage-Based 
Insurance (UBI)—the term used to explain the various 
products that determine your premiums based on 
your own specific driving factors.

The following information is provided by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). If 
you have specific questions about UBI we recommend 
that you contact your insurance company directly. 

Usage-Based Insurance (UBI)  is a relatively new 
innovation by auto insurers that more closely 
aligns driving behaviors with premium rates for 
auto insurance. Mileage and driving behaviors 
are tracked using odometer readings or in-vehicle 
telecommunication devices (telematics) that are 
usually self-installed into a special vehicle port or 
already integrated in original equipment installed by 
car manufactures. The basic idea of telematics auto 
insurance is that a driver’s behavior is monitored 
directly while the person drives. These telematics 
devices measure a number of elements of interest 
to underwriters: miles driven; time of day; where 
the vehicle is driven (GPS); rapid acceleration; hard 
breaking; hard cornering; and air bag deployment. The 
level of data collected generally reflects the telematics 
technology employed and the policyholders’ 
willingness to share 
personal data. The 
insurance company 
then assesses the data 
and charges insurance 
premiums accordingly. 
For example, a driver 
who drives long 

distance at high speed will be charged a higher rate 
than a driver who drives short distances at slower 
speeds. 

Recent advances in technology have increased the 
effectiveness and cost of using telematics, enabling 
insurers to capture not just how many miles people 
drive, but how and when they drive too. The result 
has been the growth of several UBI variations, 
including Pay-As-You-Drive, Pay-How-You-Drive, 
Pay-As-You-Go, and Distance-Based Insurance.

UBI programs offer many advantages to insurers, 
consumers and society. Linking insurance premiums 
more closely to actual individual vehicle or fleet 
performance allows insurers to more accurately price 
premiums. This increases affordability for lower-risk 
drivers, many of whom are also lower-income drivers. 
It also gives consumers the ability to control their 
premium costs by incentivizing them to reduce miles 
driven and adopt safer driving habits. Fewer miles and 
safer driving also aid in reducing accidents, congestion, 
and vehicle emissions, which benefits society.

If you’re concerned about your privacy it’s important 
to read the fine print before you agree to have your 
driving habits tracked. The insurance companies may 
analyze the data they collect in different ways. The data 
that companies consider may include: miles driven; 
driving times, including amount of time you spend 
driving between midnight and 4 a.m.;  hard braking; 
speeds of 80 mph or more. The biggest factor is 

mileage, with the most 
savings coming below 
12,000 miles a year. 
Discounts could be as 
much as 30 percent, 
but usually average 
about 10 percent.



Identity Theft
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In late February 2015, the health insurance company 
Anthem, Inc. reported to Insurance Commissioner 
Karen Weldin Stewart that as many as 62,051 Delaware 
residents may have had their personal information 
compromised due to a hacking attack on the company’s 
computer systems. While Anthem does not currently 
sell health insurance policies to individuals in Delaware, 
state residents who receive health insurance through 
their employer may be covered by an Anthem policy. 
Additionally, some customers of Highmark BlueCross 
BlueShield (BCBS) who utilized the BlueCard, a 
national program that enables members of one BCBS 
plan to obtain healthcare services while traveling or 

living in another 
BCBS plan’s service 
area, may be affected 
by the data breach.  
Any consumers who 
held Anthem policies 
as far back as 2004 
may have had their 
personal information 
compromised.

Current and former Anthem policyholders can visit 
www.AnthemFacts.com to learn more about enrolling 
in two years of free credit monitoring and identity 
theft repair services. The AnthemFacts.com website 
states, “All impacted members, former members and 
impacted affiliated plan members will receive notice 
via mail which will advise them of the protections 
being offered. Impacted members may also sign up via 
www.AnthemFacts.com.” Customers may access these 
services before they receive written notification from 
Anthem. 

Anthem reports that they are still investigating 
exactly which members had personal information 

compromised in the data breach. Personal information 
may include names, birth dates, member ID or social 
security numbers, addresses phone numbers, and 
employment information. As of now, Anthem says they 
are not aware of any banking or credit card information 
that was accessed by the hackers.

“Anthem is not calling members regarding the 
cyberattack and is not asking for credit card information 
or Social Security numbers over the phone,” warned 
Commissioner Stewart. “Policyholders will be 
contacted only through the U.S. Postal Service. Beware 
of contact by telephone or through the internet; it is 
most likely a scam.” 

Customers who believe they may be affected are 
encouraged to visit www.AnthemFacts.com. Anthem 
also has a toll-free phone number for people who do 
not have internet access: 1-877-263-7995. 

A Consumer Alert page has been added to the Delaware 
Department of Insurance website and will be updated 
with any new information received from Anthem: 
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/
consumer/alerts/alerts_anthembreach.shtml

If you are the victim of identity theft the Federal 
Trade Commission (FTC) has a website filled with 
resources to help you: http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/
features/feature-0014-identity-theft . On this webpage 
you will find information that tells you: how to place a 
fraud alert with the credit reporting companies; how 
to access free credit reports; how to create an identity 
theft report, and more.  You may want to consider 
placing a credit freeze on your credit reports to make 
it even more difficult for an identity thief to open new 
accounts in your name. The FTC’s Scam Alerts page is 
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/scam-alerts.

Data breaches may leave your personal data vulnerable

www.anthemfacts.com
http://delawareinsurance.gov/departments/consumer/alerts/alerts_anthembreach.shtml
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/topics/identity-theft
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/topics/identity-theft
https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/scam-alerts
www.anthemfacts.com


Understanding Medicare
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The Delaware Medicare Assistance Bureau 
(DMAB) helps Delaware’s Medicare recipients 
with questions about their Medicare coverage and 
other related types of insurance. During the month 
of June DMAB will host five Welcome to Medicare 
events. These events are intended for people who 
are turning 65 this year or who recently qualified 
for Medicare due to a disability.   Registration is 
required. For directions to event locations visit 
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/DMAB/calendar.
shtml or call DMAB at 1-800-336-9500 to get help 
or register. Event information is listed below.

Additional DMAB News

2015 Delaware Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Shopper’s Guide is now available in print

This popular guide is updated annually and 
includes price comparisons and toll-free 
telephone numbers for all Medigap policies sold 
in Delaware. Medicare supplement insurance, also 
called Medigap, is private insurance designed to 
supplement your Medicare coverage. The guide is 
also available at any time on the DMAB website, 
www.delawareinsurance.gov/DMAB.

While reviewing the rates on the Medigap plans in 
the 2015 guide, keep in mind that your gender and 
status as a smoker/non-smoker will directly affect 
your premiums. Please also be aware that listed rates 
may change during the year. It is recommended that 
you contact at least two or three companies directly 
and seek quotes to find the plan that provides you 
with the best value. It is important to note that the 
best time to purchase a Medigap policy is during 
your 6-month Medigap open enrollment.  This 
period automatically starts the month you’re 65 or 
older and enrolled in Medicare Part B, and once 
it’s over, you can’t get it again.  After six months 
have passed, companies selling these plans are not 
required to sell you a policy and may underwrite 
you.

DMAB’s Welcome to Medicare Events Scheduled for June

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
June 11th: Rockland Place

(North Wilmington)
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon

June 12th: Hockessin Library
10:15 a.m. – 12:00 noon

June 22nd: Newark Senior Center
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon

KENT COUNTY
June 17th: Dover Public Library 

Meeting Room A
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon

SUSSEX COUNTY
June 15th: Beebe Health Campus (Rt. 24)

Medical Arts Building, 
 McCurry Conference Room

12:00 noon – 2:00 p.m.

http://delawareinsurance.gov/DMAB/calendar.shtml
http://delawareinsurance.gov/DMAB/calendar.shtml
www.delawareinsurance.gov/dmab


Flood Insurance
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The Delaware Department of Insurance does not 
regulate flood insurance, but we think that it is 
important that we educate Delaware’s residents 
about the benefits of flood insurance. No standard 
homeowners or renters insurance policy covers 
damage to your home or its contents due to flood 
waters. According to Delaware’s Department 
of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) 
more than 331 square miles, or 17 
percent, of Delaware’s land mass 
are within a mapped high risk flood 
zone, including more than 18,000 
structures statewide. Changes to the 
National Flood Insurance Program 
(NFIP) were enacted federally in 
2014 which may directly impact 
your rates and premiums beginning 
in April 2015. The following information is from 
the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) regarding recent program changes: 
 
The NFIP is in the process of implementing 
Congressionally mandated reforms required by 

the Homeowner Flood Insurance Affordability 
Act of 2014 (HFIAA) that repeal and modify the 
BiggertWaters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 
2012 (Biggert-Waters). The new law slows some 
flood insurance rate increases and offers relief to 
some policyholders who experienced steep flood 
insurance premium increases in 2013 and early 

2014. Flood insurance rates and 
other charges will be revised for 
new or existing policies beginning 
on April 1, 2015. As required by 
HFIAA, the maximum deductible 
for a flood insurance policy will 
increase to $10,000 for single family 
and two- to four-family dwellings. 
If used, the deductible must apply 
to both building and contents. For 
single-family homes, choosing 

the maximum deductible will result in up to a 
40 percent discount from the base premium. It is 
important to remember that using the maximum 
deductible may not be appropriate in every financial 
circumstance and may not be allowed by lenders to 
meet mandatory purchase requirements.

Take note of recent changes to federal flood insurance programs

In 2014, Delaware had 168 car 
crashes that were caused by cell 
phone use/distracted driving 168
Injuries were caused as a result of the 
168 automobile crashes

Fatalities that occurred due to the 
168 automobile crashes2

78
Distracted Driving 

in Delaware

It is illegal to text and 
drive, or to talk on the 

phone without a 
 hands-free device.
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Do You Know Your Risk?

How do you know if you live in a designated flood 
zone?  Most people know if they live in a flood 
zone because they were required to purchase flood 
insurance in order to secure their home loan. However, 
flood maps change over time. In fact, the flood zone 
maps for each county in Delaware have all been 
updated within the past year. Flood insurance can be 
expensive, but not having the coverage could mean 
that your home and everything you own could be 
destroyed—leaving you in financial ruin. According 
to FEMA, the average flood claim from 2008 - 2012 
was $42,000. In 2012, the average flood insurance 
policy cost $650 per year. In 2014, average claims paid 
ranged from a low of $10,476 to a high of $42,275. 
 
The following information is from a DNREC press 
release,  Delaware communities adopt higher standards 
for building in a floodplain, from April 8, 2015:

Communities across Delaware have adopted new 
regulations that set higher standards for building in 
a floodplain, or high risk flood zone. The regulations 
were adopted by communities as a result of the release 
of new Delaware Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) 
by the Federal Emergency Management Agency 
(FEMA) and in conjunction with Senate Bill 64 that 
recommended more protective flood damage reduction 
standards for local governments to use. The FIRMs 
include updates to floodplain boundaries that are used 
to establish flood insurance rates for properties within 
a floodplain and for communities and municipalities 
to enforce local floodplain ordinances.

All of the 48 Delaware communities that participate in 
FEMA’s NFIP have updated their floodplain regulations 
that pertain to all new development and substantially-
improved structures in special flood hazard areas. As a 
result of more accurate FIRMs, most of the communities 
chose to incorporate additional best practices that are 

more protective than the federal regulations. 

Forty communities added freeboard, or additional 
feet of elevation above expected flood levels (as shown 
on FIRMs), to their flood codes. Including a freeboard 
requirement pays huge dividends – by increasing public 
safety, protecting property and reducing rates for 
flood insurance premiums. A total of 21 communities 
chose 18 inches of freeboard, while 17 communities 
adopted 12 inches. The Town of Ocean View requires 
2 feet of freeboard, and the Town of Henlopen Acres 
has retained its 3-foot freeboard requirement.

DNREC’s Division of Watershed Stewardship has 
partnered with FEMA to improve the accuracy of flood 
insurance rate maps through a Cooperating Technical 
Partnership. The improved FIRMs incorporate new 
coastal storm surge modeling completed by FEMA 
and the results of more than 200 miles of watershed 
studies completed by DNREC. The maps provide more 
accurate flood risk identification and are the basis for 
the higher local flood damage reduction standards, 
which many communities have adopted.

FEMA released the updated Kent County FIRMs last 
year, on July 7, 2014. The New Castle County maps were 
released this year on February 4, and Sussex County 
FIRMs became effective on March 16. The maps are 
available online at http://msc.fema.gov/portal.

FIRMs show the high-risk areas where there is at least a 
1 percent annual chance of flooding. Mortgage lenders 
require borrowers whose properties are located in 
special flood hazard areas to purchase flood insurance 
through FEMA’s NFIP as a condition of receiving a 
federally-backed mortgage loan. The maps also show 
the low- or moderate-risk areas where flood insurance 
is optional, but recommended. For more information, 
visit DNREC’s website, http://www.dnrec.delaware.
gov/swc/drainage/pages/flooding.aspx.

Updated flood maps help guide future building requirements

http://msc.fema.gov/portal


Health & Wellness
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 Special Enrollment Periods: 
Health Insurance and the Affordable Care Act

If you missed the Open Enrollment period, you can 
still enroll in a private health insurance plan through 
the Marketplace (Healthcare.gov) if you qualify for a 
special enrollment period (SEP).

Qualifying Life Event: Under the Affordable Care 
Act, you qualify to apply for health insurance coverage 
outside of Open Enrollment if you have had a qualifying 
life event, such as: having a baby, getting married 
or divorced, or losing your current health insurance 
coverage. To see the full list of possible circumstances 
that would qualify you for a special enrollment period, 
go to www.healthcare.gov/sep-list/. If you think 
you qualify for a special enrollment period, contact 
the Marketplace Call Center at 1-800-318-2596. 
 
Recent Immigrants:  The federal Department of 
Health and Human Services identified an issue with 
HealthCare.gov in which some applicants who qualified 
for advanced premium tax credits did not receive them. 
The affected individuals have incomes under 100% of the 
Federal Poverty Level but are ineligible for Medicaid due 
to their immigration status. HHS did not give the number 
of affected consumers – either nationally or by state.

The issue has been fixed. Affected consumers can now 
change their applications to receive an updated tax credit 
calculation and qualify for a special enrollment period.

Consumers who think they might be affected can log 
in to their account on www.Healthcare.gov and select 
“Report a life change” to determine if they are eligible 
for the special enrollment period. Or they can call the 
federal call center at 1 (800) 318-2596, explain that they 
were affected by the “immigration block system issue” 
and that only some people in their household received 
advance premium tax credits when they applied earlier.

Consumers must report the issue and enroll in 
coverage by July 31, 2015. If requested, coverage can be 
retroactive with an effective date as early as Jan. 1, 2015.

Medicaid & SHOP Accept Applications Year-Round

You can apply for Medicaid coverage or the Children’s 
Health Insurance Program (CHIP) at any time of 
the year. Go to assist.dhss.delaware.gov  for more 
information, or call 1-800-996-9969.

There is no set open enrollment period for the 
Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP) 
Marketplace, which is open to  small businesses with 
50 or fewer full-time equivalent employees. You can 
enroll in SHOP any month, any time of year. There’s 
no restricted enrollment period when you can start 
offering a SHOP plan. For more information about 
SHOP, go to www.healthcare.gov/small-businesses/. 
There’s a phone number dedicated to SHOP questions: 
1-800-706-7893. Agents and brokers helping small 
businesses with SHOP coverage can use this number, 
too.

Qualifying for New Health Insurance Outside of Open Enrollment

assist.dhss.delaware.gov
www.healthcare.gov/small-businesses/
www.healthcare.gov
www.healthcare.gov
www.healthcare.gov/sep-list/


Ask the Commissioner

Answer: While a cancelation and a non-renewal may sound 
the same they are distinctly different. A cancelation means 
that a company ends its relationship with you as a customer 
during the previously agreed upon dates of coverage. In 
Delaware, auto insurance companies cannot cancel a policy  
that has been in force for more than 60 days, with these 
exceptions: you do not pay the premium; the company 
finds that you have committed fraud or made serious 
misrepresentations when you completed your application; 
or your drivers license has been revoked or suspended.  

On the other hand, when your auto insurance company 
sends you a notice of non-renewal it means that your policy 
will not be renewed when the current term of coverage ends. 
Basically, this is the insurance company’s way of saying that 
they don’t want you as a customer any more. This is most 
often the result of your claims filing history—you may have 
submitted a lot of claims in a short period of time.

In Delaware, companies are required to send a letter of 
non-renewal to their customers at least 30 days in advance 
of the end of coverage date (the rules are a little different 
for commercial policies). That letter must be delivered to 
you via certified mail, which means you’ll have to sign to 
receive the letter. It is, of course, very important for you to 
act quickly upon receiving such a letter so you may have the 
proper time to shop for new coverage before your current 
coverage ends. If your policy is canceled or non-renewed, 
you will probably pay more for insurance in the future since 
other companies will ask about previous cancellations on 
their application for coverage. As always, get quotes from 
at least two or three companies and compare the prices and 
benefits before you sign on the dotted line.

Question: What’s the difference between a 
cancelation and a non-renewal when it comes 
to my auto insurance? Are they the same thing?

Contact the Delaware
Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904 

www.delawareinsurance.gov

consumer@state.de.us

Consumer Services: 1-800-282-8611

DMAB: 1-800-336-9500

Fraud: 1-800-632-5154

Dover Office Main Line: 302-674-7300
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www.delawareinsurance.gov

