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The Consumer Comes First

Protecting Delawareans

through regulation Hello, and thank you for reading the Winter 2015 edition of Insurance Matters, the
and education while Delaware Department of Insurance e-newsletter that provides insurance information
providing oversight of about matters affecting Delaware’s families and businesses. I hope the new year has
the insurance industry been treating you well and I applaud everyone who has made an effort to eat healthier
to best serve the public foods, lose weight, or stop smoking. Another key factor for maintaining a healthly body

is having health insurance. People who do not have health insurance are less likely to
seek treatment for seemingly small health problems which could eventually turn in to
major health issues. If you don’t have health insurance and you're seeking coverage for

2015, you only have until February 15 to sign up during the open enrollment period

1. Welcome under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). I encourage you to visit Delaware’s own website,
2. Open Enrollment www.ChooseHealthDE.com, for more information. The tax penalty for going without
3. Workers’ Comp Rates insurance will increase in 2015. See page 2 for more information about this topic.

4. Captive Bureau Successes

5. Safe Driving News There’s plenty of good news inside our Winter edition. In January, I was happy to

6. Fire Safety Tips approve substantial decreases in workers’ compensation insurance rates. It has been
7. Non-Resident Licensees estimated the decreases in rates will save employers as much as $20 million on their
8. Ask the Commissioner workers’ comp policies in 2015, compared to the rates in 2014. Employers also have

the potential to save even more on workers’ comp rates by participating in the DOT’s
Workplace Safety Program—see page 3. You can read about the continued success of our
Captive Insurance Bureau on page 4, and get tips on purchasing a safe (new or used)

automobile on page 5.

The staff of the Department of Insurance is here to serve you, no matter the subject
area, if you encounter any problems or need assistance understanding your rights as

a consumer. Thank you for reading and please share this newsletter with your friends!

Warm Regards,

Karen

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

Questions about your insurance? Call 1-800-282-8611

www.delawareinsurance.gov



http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/contact.shtml
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/

Open Enrollment Ends 2/15

Health: It's Your Final Chance to Enroll or Change Plans

If you are not on Medicare and need health insurance,
February 15 is the deadline for signing up for
coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace;
www.Healthcare.gov. Ifyouneed help with your current
plan, help understanding your options for 2015, or
assistance enrolling, go to www.ChooseHealthDE.com
to get connected to free, local help from a trained
Marketplace Guide. Help is also available by phone
at 1-800-318-2596 (please note that this number
connects to a national call center).

In 2015, if you choose to go without insurance, you
will have to pay a penalty of $325 per uninsured
adult or 2 percent of household income, whichever
is higher (unless you qualify for an exemption).

If you sign up for a plan by Feb. 15 your coverage will
take effect March 1. After Feb. 15, the open enrollment
period will be closed for 2015 and you will only be able
to sign up for a plan if you experience a qualifying life
event. Examples of qualifying life events include the
birth of a child, the loss of your current insurance
coverage, or moving to a new state.

L ChooseHealth

DELAWARE

Many individuals and their families will qualify
for federal subsidies to help lower health insurance
premiums. Talk to a Marketplace Guide or set up
an account on www.Healthcare.gov to get more
information about plans and coverage available, as
well as costs and subsidies.

Anyone with an ACA-compliant health insurance
plan, whether you got it through the Marketplace,
your employer, or directly through an insurance
company, is entitled to receive certain preventive
health benefits at no-cost or co-pay. To find a
complete list of covered preventive services for
adults, women, and children, visit www.healthcare.
gov/preventive-care-benefits/adults/

Remember, thanks to protections built in to the
Affordable Care Act your health insurance cannot
be canceled due to preexisting conditions, newly
diagnosed medical issues or your use of services
during the previous year.

The Department of Insurance cannot and does not
provide tax advice so find a qualified professional
to help with your questions related to fees and
subsidies. The IRS website that is dedicated to ACA-
related questions is http://www.irs.gov/aca.

For Small Businesses: Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP)

The Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP) offers a simpler way to find and buy health coverage

that meets the needs of your employees—and your business. To enroll in SHOP coverage, you must have 50

or fewer full-time equivalent (FTE) employees and meet certain other requirements. Visit www.healthcare.

gov/small-businesses/ to choose coverage and enroll yourself, or you can work with an agent or broker.

For more information about the SHOP Marketplace visit www.healthcare.gov/small-businesses/ or call the
SHOP-dedicated helpline at 1-800-706-7893. Check out the website’s SHOP Tax Credit Estimator Tool to

find out if you may be eligible for a tax credit and how much the credit could be worth to you.

Please note that the SHOP Marketplace is open year-round. SHOP is not affected by the Feb. 15 deadline for individuals.
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Workers’ Comp Rates

Substantial Decreases Will Save Businesses an Estimated $20 Million

Weldin Stewart
recently approved the Delaware Compensation

Insurance Commissioner Karen

Rating Bureau’s (DCRB) workers’ compensation
amended rate filing, resulting in overall average
decreases of 9.7% in residual market rates and 11.5%
in voluntary market loss costs.

The decreases are the result of cooperation among
the DCRB, the Department of Insurance and
Delaware’s Ratepayer Advocate, and are expected
to save employers approximately $20 million in
insurance costs this year.

“After several years of rate increases, I am pleased to
announce a decrease in the premium most business
owners will pay this year when purchasing workers’
compensation insurance,” said Commissioner
Stewart. “As I said when the preliminary numbers
were released in the fall, the decrease is the result of
all the stakeholders working together to bring down
Delaware’s high health care costs, which have been

driving rates up over recent years.

“I want to thank the General Assembly for passing
House Bill 373 last session, requiring that medical
costs be reduced over the next three years. I

particularly want to thank my fellow members of the
Governor’s Workers Compensation Oversight Panel,
including Chair Rich Heffron, and Attorney General
Matt Denn, past Chair of Workers’ Compensation
Task Force, for doing the hard work that laid the
foundation for HB 373"

In October, the DCRB had proposed decreases of
1.56% in residual market rates and 3.52% in voluntary
market loss costs. The Insurance Department
performed an extensive review of the proposal,
including obtaining independent reviews of the filing
from two consulting actuarial firms. The Ratepayer
Advocate also reviewed the filing and retained a third
independent actuary. The Department also held
public information sessions in the three counties and
a public hearing in Wilmington on January 12th. In
subsequent discussions, the parties agreed that the
DCRB would make an amended filing requesting
the larger decreases, which Commissioner Stewart
approved on January 28th.

The effective date of the decrease is retroactive to
December 1, 2014 for new and renewal business.

$9.3

Estimated savings on workers’
comp premiums, in 2014, by
Delaware businesses that

onge o Participated in the
M l I I 10N. Workplace Safety Program.

Employers: Learn how your business could save up to 19% on workers’ compensation insurance premiums
by participating in the Delaware Workplace Safety Program. Call 302-674-7377 or visit our website, http://
delawareinsurance.gov/services/workplacesafetydiscount.shtml.
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Captive Bureau Successes

Kinion Named One of the Top Three Influential Figures in Captive Insurance

Steve Kinion, Director of the Delaware Insurance
Departments Bureau of Captive and Financial
Insurance Products, was named number three on
Captive Review magazine’s “Power 50 in 2014”7 list.
Kinion moves up from 37th place last year on the list
of persons of most influence in the world of captive
insurance.

“EveryoneintheDepartment
is incredibly proud of Steve
for making Delaware one of
the international leaders in
the captive industry;” said
Commissioner Stewart.
“Its nice to know that

people outside of our state

recognize the tremendous
work that Steve and his
team do to create an environment in Delaware where
businesses want to work and grow.”

Announcing this year’s rankings, Captive Review
observes that “Kinion has increased his level of
influence by making passionate and well-considered
interventions around topical regulatory issues...

Captive owners and other key stakeholders are
reassured by Kinion’s drum beating for alternative risk
transfer as he ensures the captive case is heard in full”
The complete story may be found on Captive Review’s
website: http://www.captivereview.com/news/revealed-
the-2014-captive-review-power-50/

Captive insurance companies, which are owned by
the entities that they insure, are formed by businesses
who wish to better manage the cost and administration
of their own risk. In 2005, Delaware updated its laws
regarding the formation of captives, thereby positioning
the state to become a preferred domicile to the growing
number of captive insurance companies being created
by companies worldwide. Today Delaware is the
sixth largest captive domocile in the world and the
third largest captive domicile in the U.S. Delaware’s
sophisticated corporate laws, financial infrastructure
and respected judiciary make it the preeminent
jurisdiction for business. These benefits are extended
to captive insurance companies through Delaware’s
Bureau of Captive and Financial Insurance Products.

To learn more about Delaware’s Captive Bureau, visit
http://captive.delawareinsurance.gov/

Welcome to Medicare Events Scheduled for March

The Delaware Medicare Assistance Bureau (DMAB) helps
Delaware’s Medicare recipients with questions about their

Medicare coverage and other related types of insurance.
During the month of March DMAB will host five Welcome
to Medicare events. These events are intended for people

DMAB

Delaware Medicare
Assistance Bureau

who are turning 65 this year or who recently qualified for

Medicare due to a disability. =~ Registration is required.
To see a list of the event locations, dates and times visit
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/DMAB/calendar.shtml  or

call DMAB at 1-800-336-9500 to get help or register.
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Safe Driving News

Traffic-related Fatalities Increased Across Delaware in 2014

In early January, Delaware’s Office of Highway Safety (OHS) reported 125 traffic-related fatalities in 2014 compared
to 101 fatalities in 2013—a 20 percent increase. OHS reported that alcohol and drug-related fatalities made up
47 percent of the total motor vehicle crashes, a slight increase from 2013. That news is particularly upsetting

because so many of these deaths, and other accidents that resulted in injuries, could have been prevented. OHS

also reported the following data for 2014:

4,086: Total number of people arrested for DUI in Delaware

92 Percent: Delaware’s seat belt use rate (national average is 87 percent)

27: Pedestrians who died on Delaware roads

15: Motorcyclists who died on Delaware roads

3: Bicyclists who died on Delaware roads

Keeping Safety, Insurance Costs In-Mind When Buying a Car

If you’re thinking about buying a new or used vehicle
in the coming months then you may be a little
overwhelmed with the huge number of cars, trucks,
SUVs, and cross-overs on the market today. There’s
more to consider than the purchase price of the
vehicle alone, though. Safety features, fuel economy,
and the cost to insure the vehicle are all important
factors that you should take in to consideration when
making your selection.

A great resource for vehicle safety ratings is the
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). IIHS
conducts vehicle tests to determine crashworthiness
— how well a vehicle protects its occupants in a
crash. It also rates vehicles for front crash prevention,
systems that warn the driver or brake automatically to
avoid or mitigate a frontal collision. The vehicles that
perform best in the tests qualify for Top Safety Pick,
which has been awarded since the 2006 model year,
or Top Safety Pick+, which was inaugurated in 2013.
To see the list of Top Safety Picks from 2006 through
2015 visit http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/TSP-List.
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In recent years some automobile manufacturers have
begun to include optional front crash prevention
systems. The various systems use different types of
technologies to detect objects in front of vehicles
and some systems even apply the brake if the driver
does not and a crash is imminent. Safety features like
these will come at a higher up-front cost but have the
potential to reduce crashes and save lives.

When shopping for used vehicles be sure to check on
vehicle recalls by searching the VIN on the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s free, online
search tool at https://vinrcl.safercar.gov/vin/. 'The
search results will tell you if a specific vehicle has not
been repaired as part of a safety recall in the last 15 years.

Finally, don't forget that you can always call your
insurance company and ask for an estimate on the
cost of insuring a specific make and model of a car.
You may be surprised to find that while many cars
may look quite similar, the cost to insure them varies
widely.




Fire Safety Tips

Each Season Has Its Own Perils: Help Prevent a Fire in Your Home

You may have seen the recent tragic news out of
Annapolis, MD, regarding a house fire that claimed
the lives of two grandparents and four of their
grandchildren. Authorities believe that the blaze was
sparked by an electrical problem which ignited a
live but dried-out Christmas tree. Winter also brings
about the greater chance for fires from space-heaters
and chimneys. Other fires, such as those that start in
the kitchen, can happen at any time of the year. Keep
reading for more safety tips that can help keep your
home and family safe year-round.

The most important thing you can do to ensure that
your family is alerted of smoke and/or fire in the
home is to make sure that there are numerous smoke
detectors located throughout the home. Make sure
that the batteries are working in the smoke detectors
at least once per season. Some people don't know
that there are actually two different kinds of smoke
detectors: photoelectric and ionization smoke alarms.
Photoelectric smoke alarms are generally more
responsive to fires that begin with a long period of
smoldering (called “smoldering fires”). Ionization
smoke alarms are generally more responsive to flaming
fires. For the best protection, use both types of alarms
in your home.

o Never leave an open flame (like a candle) unattended.

o Create an escape plan for each bedroom and each
level of the home. Fire can spread throughout the entire
home in just minutes. Practice the escape plans with
everyone in the family during the day and in the dark.

« The National Fire Protection Association recommends
that portable space heaters should be kept at least 3 feet
from flammable materials like curtains and furniture.
Do not use old space heaters if they do not have
automatic shutoft safety systems.

« If you burn wood in your stove or fireplace be sure
to empty the ashes into a metal container with a lid.
Allow the ashes to sit at least three or four days before
disposing. The safest way to be sure that there are no
more cinders in your ashes is to pour plenty of water
over them before disposal.

o According to the US. Fire Administration, fire
departments respond to roughly 2,900 clothes dryer
fires each year, with an estimated $35 million in
property damage. The leading cause of these fires was
the failure to properly clean the dryers. Remember these
tips to keep your dryer in good shape:

o Clean the lint filter before and after each load of
laundry

« Clean lint out of the vent pipe every six months

» Replace coiled-wire foil or plastic venting with
rigid, non-ribbed metal duct

» Make sure the outdoor vent flap opens when the
dryer is operating

o Turn the dryer off if you leave home or when you
go to bed.
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Attention Non-Resident Licensees

All Non-Resident Licensees Must Renew by Feb. 28, 2015

This is a message for insurance agents and brokers:
All non-resident licensees (individuals and business

entities) are required to renew by February 28, 2015.
Renewal notices will no longer be mailed out to the
licensees. Renewal fees must be paid online at www.
nipr.com.

Fee for renewal is $75.00 for all individuals and
business entities for the following License Types:
Adjuster, Public Adjuster,
Fraternal Producer, and Limited Lines Producers.

Producer, Appraiser,
Individual Surplus Lines Brokers are required to pay
a $125.00 fee. The license will not be reissued upon
renewal. You may verify license status and print a
copy of the license at: www.delawareinsurance.gov/

Licensing Attachment Warehouse: If a licensee
answers “Yes” to one or more Background Questions,
supporting documentation may be attached online
through NIPRs Licensing Attachment Warehouse
at  https://pdb.nipr.com/docMgmt/main.html The
Electronic Attachment Warehouse eliminates the
need to fax or mail the supporting documentation.
Licensees who are unable to use the NIPR Attachment
Warehouse website may fax the
documentation to 302-736-7906.

supporting

Address Changes: Individuals may change their
address online at: www.nipr.com Business entities
must submit a Form 2C (located on our website) and
fax to the Department.

Cancellation of License: Should you choose not to
renew, you must notify the Department in writing.
Please submit a signed request in writing and either fax
or email (licensing@state.de.us) to the Department.

Licensees who fail to renew, without informing
the Department of cancellation, will be subject to
Administrative Action [a fee].

For more information about Producer Licensing in

Delaware visit http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/

services/renewlicense.shtml

$2.1

Total amount of funds recovered for
Delaware consumers in 2014 by the

onj°® Delaware Department of Insurance
Million:
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Question: I've been looking in to life insurance
policies and, honestly, it’s pretty confusing. Can
you explain what underwriting is and why some
insurance companies want me to have a medical
exam (and others don't) before they offer me
coverage?

Answer: Underwriting is the process used by insurance
companies for evaluating the risk of insuring an applicant.
Through this process the insurer decides if it is willing to
insure you and what it would charge you for the coverage.
Factors that insurance companies may use in making this decision
include: age, gender, health and lifestyle habits (smoking, for example),
family health history, whether you work in a hazardous occupation,
and/or if you engage in dangerous hobbies (such as mountain
climbing, scuba diving or sky diving). For example, if you do engage
in a hazardous hobby, or work at a dangerous job, it means the risk
the insurance company assumes to cover you is higher and, therefore,
your premiums will likely be higher.

The insurance company receives this information from vyour
application, and may ask you to fill out a health questionnaire or have
a health examination or certain medical tests. The medical exams
are usually conducted by a paramedical examiner at your home but
sometimes they may ask you to see a doctor at a physician’s office.

The extent of the exam will likely vary depending on the data that each
specific insurance company needs to obtain and analyze. For example,
Prudential Insurance’s website says that during the exam, the examiner
will record your height and weight, blood pressure, and pulse. They may
also ask for a urine sample which will test for nicotine, signs of kidney
disease, elevated sugars, and/or other drugs or conditions. Sometimes
they will also take a blood sample to test for various medical conditions
such as liver disorders, high cholesterol, and diabetes. Other types of
tests could also be administered, or samples requested, such as: an
ECG to screen for heart conditions, oral fluid sample to test for drugs
or nicotine, and/or cognitive and mobility testing.

Generally, you will be required to undergo this type of testing in order
to obtain the lowest rate on a life insurance policy. Some policies do
not require a medical exam, but those policies generally are more
expensive. If you are in reasonably good health, it makes sense to take a
brief medical exam and save money on your monthly premiums.
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Contact the Delaware
Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904

www.delawareinsurance.gov
consumer@state.de.us
Consumer Services: 1-800-282-8611
DMAB: 1-800-336-9500
Fraud: 1-800-632-5154

Dover Office Main Line: 302_674_7300J
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