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Frequ

ntly Asked Questions Abéut The

Delaware Workplace Safety Program

Who can participate?

Employers who have been in business a
minimum of 3 years and are paying at least
$3,161 annual premium are eligible.

Companies that meet these criteria receive
notification from the Delaware Department
of Insurance seven months before their
workers compensation insurance policy is
up for renewal.

What are the benefits?

Upon passing a safety inspection, employers
can earn up to a 19 percent discount on
workers compensation premiums.

Participants also receive materials and
suggestions from the inspectors that are
helpful in maintaining safe and healthy
worksites.

Failure to qualify does not result in any
penalties, premium increases or sanctions
imposed by other safety enforcement
authorities.

When will the percentage
discount become effective?

Insurance carriers apply earned discounts
at the renewal date of the workers'
compensation policies of the current year.

Who performs the
inspections?

Independent qualified safety inspectors,
under contract to the Delaware Department
of Insurance conduct actual physical
inspections of worksites.

Is this a one-time discount
or can | reapply each year?

Employers have the opportunity to re-apply
for the discount annually. Applications must
be received 5 months prior to the policy
renewal date.

Is there a cost involved?

The cost of the inspection is borne by the
employer and is based on the number of
locations and worksites within the
company. The size and complexity of
operations are also a consideration. The
fees range from $300 to $3,000 for the
first year of participation.

How do | apply or find out
more?

Go to the Insurance Commissioner’s
Office website at www.state.de.us/inscom
and click on “Workplace Safety” or call
(302) 674-7300 to request an application.




The Delaware Insurance

Commissioner's Office, in
coordination with the
Delaware Compensation
Rating Bureau, offers
Delaware employers an
opportunity to lower their
workers compensation
insurance premiums by
participating in the
Delaware Workplace Safety
Program.

Businesses may earn
discounts up to 19 percent
by providing and
maintaining a safe place to
workK.

Since the program's
inception in 1989,
employers have =aved
millions of dollars in
premiums, and more
importantly, have enhanced
the safety and health of
their employees.

For more information
about your insurance and
insurance rates,
go to
www.delawareinsurance.gov
(1]
call 1-800-282-8611

Delaware Department of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Bivd.
Dover, DE 19904




