
 
 

Delaware Licensing Procedures 
 
The Delaware Insurance Department accepts only electronic license and renewal applications. 
 
Applicants may apply online through the NIPR (National Insurance Producer Registry).  The 
NIPR Gateway is a communication network that electronically links state insurance departments 
with the entities they regulate.  The website address to submit an application is: 
 

www.nipr.com 
 

Examination information may be obtained through our contractor, Pearson Vue.  They may be 
contacted at 800-274-0455 or on the web at:  
 

http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/120800.pdf 
 
PRODUCER 
 
Resident –  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Examination(s) from Pearson Vue 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt (DE State Police 302-

739-2528) 
 Applicants applying for the Line(s) of authority Bail Agent (Bail Agent means a person 

required to be licensed under the laws of this State to sell, solicit or negotiate contracts of 
surety bail bond insurance and appointed by a surety insurer that is authorized to transact 
business in this State to sell, solicit or negotiate contracts of surety bail bond insurance.) 
or Property Bail Agent (Property bail agent" means any person, not appointed by a 
surety insurer, who pledges United States currency, United States postal money orders or 
cashier's checks or other property as security or surety for a bail bond in connection with 
a judicial proceeding and receives or is promised therefore money or other things of 
value.) are required to file a bond in the amount of $20,000 with the Department.  The 
bond may be faxed to 302-736-7906. 

 Property Bail Agents are required to provide a copy of their fee schedule and contract.  
This may be faxed to 302-736-7906. 

 Resident Crop Producers will be required to take the Delaware Crop Exam in order to 
qualify for licensing. 

 Once the application has been submitted through NIPR, please fax the State Criminal 
Background Report to:  302-736-7906.  Examination results are received electronically 
from Pearson Vue and do not need to be faxed to the Department. 

 $75.00 Fee 
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Nonresident – 
 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Applicants applying for the Line(s) of authority Bail Agent (Bail Agent means a person 

required to be licensed under the laws of this State to sell, solicit or negotiate contracts of 
surety bail bond insurance and appointed by a surety insurer that is authorized to transact 
business in this State to sell, solicit or negotiate contracts of surety bail bond insurance.) 
or Property Bail Agent (Property bail agent" means any person, not appointed by a 
surety insurer, who pledges United States currency, United States postal money orders or 
cashier's checks or other property as security or surety for a bail bond in connection with 
a judicial proceeding and receives or is promised therefore money or other things of 
value.) are required to file a bond in the amount of $20,000 with the Department.  The 
bond may be faxed to 302-736-7906. 

 Property Bail Agents are required to provide a copy of their fee schedule and contract.  
A Filing fee of $50 must accompany the fee schedule and contract. [Title 18 Del. C. 
§701(21)] 

 $75.00 Fee 
 
SURPLUS LINES BROKER  
 
Resident – Please Note: To qualify for a Surplus Line Broker License, the applicant must have 
an active Producer License for the LOAs they are requesting.  A Surplus Line Broker License 
may be issued for one or more of the following LOAs:  Property, Casualty, Surety, Marine & 
Transportation, and Personal Lines.   

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 $200.00 Fee 

 
Nonresident – 

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 $200.00 Fee 

 
FRATERNAL PRODUCER 
 
Resident – 

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt (302-739-2528) 
 Please fax the State Criminal Background Report to:  302-736-7906. 
 $75.00 Fee 
 

Nonresident – 
 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 $75.00 Fee 

 
Limited Lines Producer  
Limited Lines Producer Licenses are issued for the following Lines of Authority: 
 

 Automobile Club 
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 Credit 
 Life (Pre-Need Insurance) – Examination from Pearson Vue is required for a 

resident applicant. 
 Title - Proof of Admittance to the Delaware Bar or examination from Pearson 

Vue is required for a resident applicant. 
 Travel Accident & Baggage 

 
Resident –  
 

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt (302-739-2528) 
 Please fax the State Criminal Background Report to:  302-736-7906. 
 $75.00 Fee 

 
Nonresident – 
 

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 $75.00 Fee 

 
ADJUSTER 
 
Resident – 

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Resident Crop Adjusters are required to submit a copy of their CAPP Card in lieu of an 

exam. 
 Examination(s) from Pearson Vue 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt (302-739-2528) 
 Once the application has been submitted through NIPR, please fax the State Criminal 

Background Report to:  302-736-7906.  Examination results are received electronically 
from Pearson Vue and do not need to be faxed to the Department. 

 $75.00 Fee 
 

Nonresident –  
 Nonresident licensees licensed in their home state where an exam has been taken may 

apply online at www.nipr.com   
 Non-Resident Crop Adjusters are required to submit a copy of their CAPP Card in lieu of 

an exam. 
 A Non-Resident Adjuster who does not hold a resident license because their home state 

does not license Adjusters, may apply online at www.nipr.com  by designating their non-
resident Adjuster state as their domicile state.   

 Nonresident applicants who are not licensed in any state are required to take the 
Delaware exam and obtain a Criminal Background Report from their resident State Police 
Department dated within 90 days of receipt.  The Form 2A and the Criminal Background 
Report must be submitted to the Department.  Examination results are received 
electronically from Pearson Vue and do not need to be submitted to the Department. 

http://delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/New2A.pdf
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 $75.00 Fee 
 

PUBLIC ADJUSTER  
 
Resident –  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Examination from Pearson Vue 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt (302-739-2528) 
 Bond in the amount of $20,000 
 Copy of Contract (Title 18 Chapter 17A) 
 Please fax the State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt, Bond, 

and copy of contract to:  302-736-7906.  Examination results are received electronically 
from Pearson Vue and do not need to be submitted to the Department. 

 $75.00 Fee 
 
Nonresident –  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Bond in the amount of $20,000 
 Copy of Contract (Title 18 Chapter 17A) 
 Please fax the Bond, and copy of contract to:  302-736-7906. 
 $75.00 Fee 

 
MOTOR VEHICLE APPRAISER 
 
Resident –  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Examination from Pearson Vue 
 State Criminal Background Report dated within 90 days of receipt 
 Please fax the State Criminal Background Report to:  302-736-7906.  Examination results 

are received electronically from Pearson Vue and do not need to be faxed to the 
Department. 

 $75.00 Fee 
 
Nonresident-  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 $75.00 Fee 
 

APPRENTICE ADJUSTER/MOTOR VEHICLE APPRAISER (VALID FOR 1 YEAR) 
 
Resident/Nonresident –  

 Electronic Submission:  www.nipr.com 
 Please fax the following to 302-736-7906:   

o A statement from a duly licensed adjuster/appraiser assuming full responsibility 
for the activities of the applicant and certification that the applicant is a full-time 
employee under his/her supervision. 
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o A State Criminal Report dated within 90 days of receipt from the applicant’s state 
of residence. 

 
 $25.00 Fee 

 
BUSINESS ENTITY AGENCY LICENSE 
 
A business entity acting as an insurance producer is required to obtain an insurance producer 
license.  Application may be made online at www.nipr.com  
 
Before approving the application, the Insurance Commissioner shall find that: 
 

 The business entity has paid the fees set forth in Title 18 Delaware Code, Chapter 7; and 
 The business entity has designated a licensed producer responsible for the business 

entity’s compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations of this state. 
 $75.00 Fee 

 
 
DISCOUNT MEDICAL PLAN ORGANIZATION 

Click here to obtain Discount Medical Plan Organization license requirements.  The license fee 

is $500.00 

RENTAL CAR INSURANCE PRODUCER LIMITED LICENSE 

Application must be submitted via paper.  Click here for the application.  

The following attachments must be included with the submission. 
 
1. List of rental locations.  

2. Company Training Program that shall include training materials.  

3. A written statement signed by an officer of the insurer that the insurer will appoint the rental 

company to act as the agent specifying the kinds of insurance authorized.  

 

VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER 

Application may be made online at www.nipr.com  The license fee is $150.00.  The following 

attachments must be faxed to 302-736-7906 otherwise the application may be unprocessed or 

considered deficient. 
1. Principal Officers - List the names, business address and social security number for each 

officer responsible for the conduct of the registered Viatical Settlement Provider 
Agents/Brokers. 

2. List the name, residence address (street number, city, state) and National Producer 
Number (NPN) for each individual who will transact Viatical Settlements on behalf of 
the Viatical Settlement Provider’s affairs. This individual(s) must be licensed as a 

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/DiscountMedPlanReqAttachments.pdf
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/RentalApp.pdf
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Producer in the State of Delaware. 
 

3. Provide a business character report for each owner, partner, officer, director, trustee, or 
member of the applicant or any entity that controls the applicant. “Owner” means an 
individual with a 10% or greater beneficial ownership.  Character reports are available 
from firms such as Equifax, and Applicant Insight. Regardless of their source, the report 
must verify employment, education, and military service for the past ten (10) years. 
Litigation, criminal, UCC, and bankruptcy records must be searched for seven (7) years. 
At least one business character reference must be obtained for each individual such as an 
attorney, partner, or other business associate familiar with the business dealings of the 
individual. Supervisors or co-workers are not acceptable references. 

4. Attach list of contract forms for filing. 

***Note:  If NIPR is unable to process the application, please click here for a paper application.  

The application, check and supporting documentation must be mailed to the DOI.    

 

PORTABLE ELECTRONIC PRODUCER 

The license fee is $1,000.00.  The application and payment may be submitted electronically at:  

www.nipr.com 

If the application cannot be processed through NIPR, please complete the NAIC Uniform 

Application located at:  http://www.nipr.com/documents/busapp.pdf  
 

Submit the paper application and check to the Department.  A copy of Title 18 Chapter 20A 
Portable Electronic Device Insurance Producer Limited License Act may be found at:  
http://delcode.delaware.gov/title18/c020a/index.shtml 
 
Change of Name  
 
Report any change in name to the Insurance Department within THIRTY (30) DAYS of the 
change on a Form 2C.  A fee of $10, proof of name change, and a Form 2C are required for 
change of name.  A revised license will be forwarded to the licensee. 
 
Change of Address 
 
Address changes may be made online at:  www.nipr.com  and must be reported within THIRTY 
(30) Days of the change. 

 

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/VSPForm.pdf
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/New2C.pdf

