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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 

TO:  All Insurers Licensed in Delaware 
 

FROM: Insurance Commissioner Donna Lee H. Williams 
 

RE:  2001 Insurance-Related Legislation Report 
 

DATE:  September 27, 2001 
 
 
 
The Delaware General Assembly adopted and Governor Ruth Ann Minner signed into law the 
following insurance-related legislation.  For copies of the legislation please contact Legislative 
Council at 1-800-282-8545 or visit their website at http://www.state.de.us/research/assembly.htm . 
 
 
SENATE BILL 111 – Raises the CAP ON ATTORNEYS’ FEES for WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION benefits awarded from $2,250 to $6,744.  Signed:  July 9, 2001; Effective:  
July 1, 2001. 
 
SENATE BILL 125 – Provides RECIPROCITY in LICENSING NON-RESIDENT SURPLUS 
LINES BROKERS and complies with the Federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act.  Signed:  June 27, 
2001. 
 
SENATE BILL 146 (Substitute) – Replaces the current statue for AGENT LICENSING 
requirements that includes creating a SYSTEM OF RECIPROCITY & UNIFORMITY and complies 
with the Federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act.  Signed:  July 13, 2001; Effective:  March 1, 2002. 
 
SENATE BILL 181 – The “Patients’ Bill Of Rights” allowing for referrals, necessary prescription 
drugs, speedy internal appeals of adverse decisions, appropriate emergency room care and 
benefits for clinical trials.  Also provides for RATE DISPUTE resolution pertaining to emergency 
services and out-of-network care through an ARBITRATION process to be established by the 
Insurance Commissioner.  Signed:  July 3, 2001; Effective:  Will apply to all insurance 
policies and contracts issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2002. 
 
SENATE BILL 223 – Increases the total membership of the DELAWARE HEALTH CARE 
COMMISSION from ten to eleven.  Signed:  July 9, 2001. 
 
 
HOUSE BILL 27 – Amends Title 19 and would allow members of the immediate families of SOLE 
PROPRIETORS or partners subject to the WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT to opt out of 
coverage.  Signed:  June 18, 2001 (effective 60 days after enactment). 
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HOUSE BILL 62 – Formally recognizes that the APPEAL TIME from the INDUSTRIAL 
ACCIDENT BOARD to SUPERIOR COURT is 30 days and that the IAB is not a party to an 
appeal as provided under the Administrative Procedures Act.  Signed:  June 21, 2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 100 – Provides complete MENTAL HEALTH PARITY for coverage between 
treatment of physical disorders and mental disorders.  The final amendment to the legislation 
reinstates the current code language reference to “serious mental illness,” clarifies that DRUG 
and ALCOHOL dependencies will be covered; provides that a licensed mental health professional 
must provide service in order to be reimbursed; defines that a LICENSED MENTAL HEALTH 
PROFESSIONAL includes a psychologist, psychiatrist, social worker and other such mental 
health professionals, and that CERTIFIED DRUG and ALCOHOL COUNSELORS’ eligible 
services be covered.  Signed:  July 18, 2001.  NOTE:  The Act shall become effective upon 
the specific appropriation of funds for such purposes in the Annual Appropriations Act. 
 
HOUSE BILL 158 – Would require employers to inform employees of WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION BENEFITS they are entitled to.  Signed:  July 9, 2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 171 – Clarifies and corrects language in Title 18 that “Pap Smear” is not the 
appropriate HEALTH CARE SCREENING for endometrial cancer but is used for cervical cancer 
screening.  Signed:  June 18, 2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 204 – Requires that certain BREAST RECONSTRUCTION procedures be covered 
by group and individual health insurance plans in conjunction with mastectomy procedures.  
Signed:  July 30, 2001; Effective for policies issued or renewed after July 15, 2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 205 – Pertains to NON-DISCLOSURE of NON-PUBLIC information and grants the 
Insurance Commissioner the authority to adopt rules and regulations to implement provisions of 
the Federal Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act of 1999.  Signed:  June 21, 2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 206 – Provides that FARM VEHICLES operated or towed on highways in Delaware 
must be operated by a LICENSED DRIVER regardless of registration status.  Signed:  July 12, 
2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 225 – Reorganizes the FEE STRUCTURE and increases some of the fees for 
services provided by the Delaware Insurance Department.  Signed:  July 1, 2001; Effective 
upon signature. 
 
HOUSE BILL 249 – Will add a new Chapter 20 to Title 18, and will establish a new LIMITED 
LICENSE for selling insurance at AUTO CENTERS.  The proposed fee is $300 per year per entity 
selling the product.  Signed:  July 17, 2001; Effective:  January 1, 2002. 
 
HOUSE BILL 250 – Clarifies the PROPER TAX CREDITS to be allowed for insurance 
GUARANTEE ASSOCIATION ASSESSMENTS.  Affects § 523(b) of Title 18.  Signed:  July 12, 
2001. 
 
HOUSE BILL 262 – Provides specific guidelines as to when PENALTIES may be assessed when 
an insurer or self-insurer FAILS TO PAY WORKERS’ COMPENSATION benefits in a timely 
manner.  Amendment provides that an explanation must be included with a bill, eliminates 
problems caused by delays in the mail by clarifying that the 30 day provision begins to run upon 
receipt of the medical bills, and clarifies that compensation agreements must be in writing.  
Signed:  July 19, 2001. 
 
NOTE:   Unless specified in the Bill, signed legislation becomes effective upon the Governor’s 

  signature. 


