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AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE

What’s Mandatory, What’s Optional;
What it Costs You; What Affects Your Premium

Optional Coverage
The most commonly recognized coverages, in addition to the basic liabili-
ty package, are collision and comprehensive coverages.

Collision coverage pays for physical damage to your car as the result of
your auto colliding with an object, such as a tree or another car. This is rel-
atively expensive coverage. Remember, this coverage is not required by
law and is based on the value of your vehicle. However, collision insurance
may be required by your lending institution or lessor.

Auto insurance policies only require the company to cover your financial
losses, not to replace your vehicle. In the case of an accident involving
an older car, the cost of repairing it can quickly exceed the value of the car
and your insurance carrier will pay you what the car was worth rather than
fix it. In severe cases, the value of the car may be less than premiums paid
for the coverage. Therefore, if your vehicle is worth less than $2,000,
there is little reason for you to purchase collision coverage, because you
are likely to pay more money in premiums than you would ever receive as
a result of your claim.

Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your car from almost all
other causes, including fire, severe weather, vandalism, flood and theft.
Comprehensive coverage also will cover broken glass, such as windshield
damage. Comprehensive coverage is less expensive than collision cover-
age and many consumers choose to carry it. However, remember it is your
choice; you are not required by law to carry comprehensive coverage.

When considering collision and comprehensive coverage, you should con-
sider your deductible. A deductible is an amount of money you agree to
pay as part of a claim before the insurer is committed to pay the rest of the
claim. For example, if you carried collision coverage with a $200 deductible
and you had a $500 loss, the insurance company would only have to pay
$300.

Basically, deductibles lower your premiums because you agree to
reduce a set amount from the claim your insurer otherwise would have to
pay. Insurance companies offer deductibles because they reduce the num-
ber of small claims, which are costly for them to handle.

If you purchase collision or comprehensive coverage, you can save
money by agreeing to the highest deductible you can afford to pay in the
event of an accident. However, since comprehensive coverage is usually
cheaper than collision coverage, many people save money by dropping the
collision coverage and keeping the comprehensive coverage to protect
against natural perils, theft, and glass breakage.

DON’T DRIVE UNINSURED
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) aggres-
sively enforces the Delaware Uninsured Motorist
Law. Registered vehicles are randomly checked
for minimum coverage as itemized below. The
DMV receives notice from insurance companies
of any terminated or lapsed policies. If your pol-
icy terminates or lapses without replacement by
another policy, you will be penalized. These
penalties include fines, the surrender of tags,
and the loss of your driver’s license.

Mandatory Minimum Coverage
For your own protection and for the protection of others, Delaware law
requires you to purchase the following minimum amounts of coverage:

1. Bodily Injury Protection -- $15,000/$30,000.

If you are legally responsible for the injury or death of another and have
minimum coverage, your insurance company will pay:
• $15,000 MAXIMUM to one person involved in a single accident.
• $30,000 MAXIMUM to all people involved in a single accident, with no

more than $15,000 to any one person.

2. Property Damage -- $10,000

If you are legally responsible for damages to another’s property and have
the minimum coverage, your insurance company will pay:
• $10,000 MAXIMUM to a person involved in a single accident.

3. Personal Injury Protection or PIP -- $15,000/$30,000

Whether you are responsible for the accident or not, your insurance com-
pany will pay for the medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your
passengers. If you have minimum coverage your company will pay:
• $15,000 MAXIMUM to any one person involved in a single accident.
• $30,000 MAXIMUM to all people involved in a single accident, with no

more than $15,000 to any one person.

These minimum amounts are relatively low, and you may wish to purchase
additional coverage to protect your assets from claims that exceed the min-
imum amounts. Keep in mind, however, that as you raise your coverage,
your premiums will increase. This is because you are asking the insurance
company to assume responsibility for a higher claim.

If you borrow funds to purchase a new car, your lender may
require you to carry comprehensive and collision coverage to
protect the vaue of its collateral.

READ YOUR POLICY CAREFULLY / ASK QUESTIONS
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Uninsured motorist coverage pays if you incur losses by a hit-and-run driv-
er or a driver who does not have auto insurance. This coverage, when in effect,
takes the place of the insurance that the other driver should have had but did
not. The coverage comes at an automatic $250 deductible for property dam-
age, regardless of the deductible you may have on your other coverages.
Under-insured motorist coverage protects the insured party when the liable
party’s limits are less than the insured’s limits. See your agent for details.

Uninsured motorist coverage will have policy limits. It does not protect the
other driver, and it may not cover damage to your vehicle. Your insurance com-
pany may sue the other driver for any money the company pays to you
because of the other driver’s negligence.

Rental reimbursement coverage usually pays $15 to $20 a day to rent a car
for a specific number of days while your vehicle is being repaired or replaced.
The premium will vary from insurer to insurer. Note that some portion of the
rental reimbursement coverage may be collected in the absence of incurring
rental expenses to compensate you for the loss of use of your vehicle.

Towing and labor coverage pays the cost of towing your car to the repair shop
subject to the limit of your policy. Premium for this coverage can run as low as
$5 to $10 per year. However, if you are a member of an auto club, you probably
already have this service and may not want to duplicate your coverage.

What Affects Auto Insurance Prices?
Insurance companies sort consumers by risk factors into groups. Each group
is assigned a rate, based on the average frequency by which the group mem-
bers submit claims. The actual premium for each member of a group is deter-
mined individually. That means: when you apply for an insurance policy, the
company assesses how likely it is that you will use your insurance. Based on
this assessment, the company will group you with others who share similar
risks, and will assign you a price based on what the insurer believes it will cost
to assume the financial responsibility for your potential claim. In this process,
the insurer is bound by law and scrutinized by the Insurance Commissioner.

Some of these risk-related characteristics are beyond your control (such as
age and gender). Others can be controlled; but since they relate directly to
lifestyle or income, they are difficult to control. In the list below we attempt to
rank them by controllability:

Type of Car: a car with a powerful engine carries a greater risk of high claims
than a less sporty model and is thus more expensive to insure.

Driving Record: the better your driving record the lower your premiums.

Discounts: auto insurers offer premium discounts for numerous things, such
things as anti-theft and safety devices, and for people who hold defensive driv-
ing and good student designations. Ask your agent what discounts are avail-
able to you.

Amount of Coverage: if you choose to carry coverage beyond the mandato-
ry minimum, your premiums will be higher.

MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE - WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW
When driving a motorcycle, insurance coverage is mandatory. As with auto
insurance, you are required by law to carry a minimum of bodily injury, prop-
erty damage, and personal injury protection (PIP). We caution you to take the
following facts into consideration:
1. When inquiring about your premium, the agent may give you a quote

based on the minimum PIP limits and a $15,000 deductible. That means,
unless you deliberately choose otherwise and pay an additional premium,
you have ZERO PIP coverage, as the coverage limit of $15,000 will be
reduced to zero by the deductible. Keep in mind that the low premium

comes at a high price! Consider other options which come at a higher
premium but with lower deductibles.

2. Also, the higher the premium option you choose, the fewer exclusions
your policy may have. At the minimum premium you may receive medi-
cal and loss wage benefits for only those accidents which occur (a) on a
highway and (b) wherein there is actual physical contact with another
vehicle.

3. Be safe - wear a helmet.

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE

Other Optional Coverages
Deductible Amount: your choice of a higher deductible will reduce the cost
of your car insurance.

Usage of Vehicle: the more you drive on a regular basis, the higher the risk,
the higher the premium.

Geographic Location: living and/or regularly driving in an area with lots of
traffic and frequent accidents will also result in higher premiums.

Marital Status: from prior claims data insurers know that married persons
tend to have a lower claims level than unmarried ones. Marital status does
reduce premiums once the driver reaches age 22, if female, and age 30, if
male.

Employment History: other statistics show that persons who work in the
same place for a long time tend to have lower claims.

WHAT SHOULD YOU DO IF INVOLVED IN
AN ACCIDENT?

• Stop the vehicle immediately. Keep calm. Do not argue, accuse
anyone, or make any admission of blame for the accident.

• Call for medical assistance if there are any injuries. Do what you can
to provide first aid, but do not move an injured person unless you pos-
sess medical or lifesaving expertise or unless there is a life-threatening
event (i.e., vehicle leaking gas).

• Notify the appropriate law enforcement authorities. Fully cooperate
with any authorities responding to the accident.

• Be an information gatherer. *If the police do not respond, gather the
following information:

• Exchange insurance, driver’s license, and automobile

registration information;

• Witnesses’ names, phone numbers, and addresses;

• Brief description of how the accident occurred.

* If the police do respond, keep a copy of everything they give you.

• Notify your claims contact person/number on your insurance card
or your insurance agent. Is your car disabled? Is your car in need of
repair? This person will go over your policy with you and will verify your
coverages.

• Repairs. FAQ: Do I have to use my insurer’s body shop for repairs?

Answer: No. You have final choice for which body repair shop you take
your vehicle. However, be aware you may have to pay the difference if
your body shop’s estimate is higher than the insurance company’s,
unless the increase can be justified and agreed upon by all parties. You
and the insurance company may agree on a predetermined course of
action after you are involved in an accident. That could include the use of
an insurance company-chosen auto-repair facility.



Youthful Male Youthful Male Youthful Female Youthful Female Adult Adult Senior
Single Single Single Single Pleasure Class Pleasure Class Citizen

Your Own Car Your Parents’ Car Your Own Car Your Parent’s Car Under 7,500 Miles/Year Over 7,500 Miles/Year Pleasure Class

AIU Insurance Company 2248 1552 1861 1332 729 758 901
Allstate Indemnity Company 6052 5214 4540 4028 2684 2684 2524
Allstate Insurance Company 2932 2392 2305 1882 862 1073 700
American Internatonal Insurance Company 1937 1374 1654 1189 655 683 801
Delaware Auto Plan (Assigned Risk) 3969 2382 1985 1985 1323 1654 N/A
The First Liberty Insurance Company 650 555 561 496 317 367 357
Geico Casualty Company 1405 1124 1369 1095 1111 1111 1069
Geico General Insurance Company 828 551 799 634 484 585 346
Geico Indemnity Company 1140 912 1111 889 766 901 740
Government Employees Insurance Company 828 551 799 634 484 585 346
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 840 627 716 541 304 304 287
Liberty Insurance Corporation 1056 936 936 853 589 671 611
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 685 585 590 522 334 386 377
Nationwide General Insurance Company                    702                       570                     597                     491                        343                             359                      302 
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company                      616                      534                      548                     490                        357                             357                      351
Progressive Classic Insurance Company 1673 1455 1735 1487 976 976 976
Progressive Northern Insurance Company 1780 1548 1847 1582 1038 1038 1038
United Services Automobile Association* 998 643 579 490 236 275 221
USAA Casualty Insurance Company* 1329 791 690 631 268 311 250
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Youthful Male Youthful Male Youthful Female Youthful Female Adult Adult Senior
Single Single Single Single Pleasure Class Pleasure Class Citizen

Your Own Car Your Parents’ Car Your Own Car Your Parent’s Car Under 7,500 Miles/Year Over 7,500 Miles/Year Pleasure Class
AIU Insurance Company 1695 1198 1442 1036 570 594 698
Allstate Indemnity Company 4212 3628 3150 2792 1858 1858 1750
Allstate Insurance Company 1983 1601 1537 1246 560 688 467
American Internatonal Insurance Company 1412 1002 1207 868 478 498 585
Delaware Auto Plan (Assigned Risk) 2718 1631 1360 1360 906 1133 N/A
The First Liberty Insurance Company 435 372 376 332 212 246 239
Geico Casualty Company 981 785 955 764 775 775 747
Geico General Insurance Company 544 362 525 417 318 385 228
Geico Indemnity Company 791 633 770 616 531 625 513
Government Employees Insurance Company 544 362 525 417 318 385 228
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 542 411 466 369 209 209 200
Liberty Insurance Corporation 708 627 627 571 395 449 410
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 458 391 395 350 224 258 252
Nationwide General Insurance Company                    519                      422                      441                     363                         254                            265                      223
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company                      455                      398                      408                     368                        277                             277                      272
Progressive Classic Insurance Company 1288 1120 1336 1144 751 751 752
Progressive Northern Insurance Company 1370 1192 1421 1217 799 799 800
United Services Automobile Association* 718 465 419 356 175 202 164
USAA Casualty Insurance Company* 953 570 497 456 197 228 184

Youthful Male Youthful Male Youthful Female Youthful Female Adult Adult Senior
Single Single Single Single Pleasure Class Pleasure Class Citizen

Your Own Car Your Parents’ Car Your Own Car Your Parent’s Car Under 7,500 Miles/Year Over 7,500 Miles/Year Pleasure Class
AIU Insurance Company 2720 1939 2337 1681 928 967 1132
Allstate Indemnity Company 8900 7672 6680 5930 3952 3952 3716
Allstate Insurance Company 3466 2817 2711 2208 1010 1252 823
American Internatonal Insurance Company 2294 1624 1954 1404 773 806 946
Delaware Auto Plan (Assigned Risk) 5205 3123 2603 2603 1735 2169 N/A
The First Liberty Insurance Company 701 599 604 535 342 396 385
Geico Casualty Company 1544 1235 1505 1204 1221 1221 1176
Geico General Insurance Company 887 688 855 676 516 625 370
Geico Indemnity Company 1260 1008 1228 983 847 997 818
Government Employees Insurance Company 887 688 855 676 516 625 370
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 1220 902 1036 774 417 417 392
Liberty Insurance Corporation 1137 1007 1007 918 634 723 657
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 739 633 638 564 361 418 407
Nationwide General Insurance Company                    754                       612                     640                      527                       368                             385                      324
Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company                     639                        552                     567                      507                       368                            368                       362
Progressive Classic Insurance Company 2609 2241 2665 2270 1480 1480 1502
Progressive Northern Insurance Company 2775 2385 2836 2414 1574 1574 1597
United Services Automobile Association* 1095 704 634 537 258 300 241
USAA Casualty Insurance Company* 1459 868 756 692 292 340 273

CITY OF WILMINGTON 

The above rates are those charged as of April 30, 2004 for the minimum automobile liability insurance legally required in the State of Delaware and do not include any surcharges for accidents
or violations. Ask your insurance company if you qualify for these discounts: Good Driver, Multi-car, Seatbelt User, Mature Operator, Defensive Driving Course, Driver Training or Good Student.

Any questions, please call the Insurance Department’s Consumer Services Division at (302) 739-6775 or at (800) 282-8611 (in Delaware only).

NEW CASTLE COUNTY
(New Castle County above the C&D Canal)

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE Rates
The following are sample premiums submitted by the insurance companies selling the most auto insurance in Delaware.

These sample premiums represent ANNUAL RATES for MINIMUM INSURANCE COVERAGE required by Delaware law.

KENT & SUSSEX COUNTIES
(And New Castle County below the C&D Canal)

*Eligibility for USAA insurance is generally restricted to U.S. military officers, non-commissioned officers and their dependents.



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Why Buy Home Insurance?

Owners: To protect both your house and personal
property.

Tenants: To protect your furniture and other personal property.
Everyone: To protect against liability for accidents that injure

other people or damage their property.

How Much Insurance Do I Need?

•Property Protection: The better your coverage, the less you
will have to pay out of your own pocket if disaster strikes.

•Self Protection: You need enough liability coverage to protect
yourself from lawsuits resulting from your negligence.

•Lender Requirements: Your lender may require you to cover
the house for at least the amount of the mortgage. This may be
either too little or too much coverage for your individual circum-
stance. You are not required to purchase insurance from the
insurer recommended by your lender.

•Policy Requirements: Insurers may impose some coverage
requirements for replacement cost protection.

What Affects Home Insurance Prices?

•Types of Construction: Frame houses usually cost more to
insure than brick.

•Age of House: New homes may qualify for discounts. Some
insurance companies may not insure very old homes or may offer
a limited form of coverage.

•Local Fire Protection: Your home’s distance from a fire hydrant
and the accessibility of your home to your local fire department
determine your fire protection classification.

•Amount of Coverage: The amount of coverage you buy for your
house, contents, and personal liability will affect the price you pay.

•Deductible Amount: Your choice of a higher deductible will
reduce the price for home insurance.

•Hurricane Deductible: In an effort to fend off rate increases asso-
ciated with an increased risk of hurricane damage, many homeown-
er policies now call for the payment of a deductible (typically 2% of the
property’s value) before losses are covered from wind, rain, hail, tor-
nadoes or cyclones directly caused by a hurricane. Damages caused
by weather unassociated with a hurricane will be covered without
application of the hurricane deductible.

•Discounts: Insurers may offer lower prices for such things as
insuring your home and car with the same company and installing
dead-bolt locks or alarm systems.

What Deductible Should I Choose?

•The deductible applies only to coverage on your house and per-
sonal property. It is the amount you have to pay out of pocket on
each claim.

•A policy with $100 deductible will cost more than one with $250
deductible. Higher deductibles may be available at a reduced
price.

5555
HOMEOWNER’S INSURANCE

For Owners, for Renters, for Everyone

PRIVATE MORTGAGE INSURANCE - HOME BUYERS BEWARE
If you put less than 20% down when purchasing a house, most lenders require you to buy Private Mortgage Insurance
(PMI) to cover the remainder of the 20% and guarantee your loan. You can, however, avoid PMI and still put down less
than 20% - by buying a two-loan package. They are offered by some mortgage companies and work as follows: The first
mortgage may be the traditional 30-year fixed-rate mortgage for 80% of the purchase price. The second mortgage could
then be a 15-year fixed-rate second mortgage for 10%. Your cash down payment would cover the remaining 10%. If you
find a lender who allows you to do such a two-loan package, you are putting your money into a mortgage instead of giving
it away on PMI. And unlike your PMI premium, your mortgage interest is tax deductible. Unfortunately, many people keep
paying for PMI coverage they no longer need after they have acquired more than 20% equity in their home. The terms of
your mortgage agreement may require that you obtain an appraisal to establish that you have reached the 20% equity
mark before the PMI obligation is lifted.

READ YOUR POLICY CAREFULLY / ASK QUESTIONS
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TYPES OF COVERAGE AVAILABLE

Whether you own or rent, there are different packages of home insur-
ance offered to protect your home and belongings.

Each package protects against a specified number of perils. Perils are
events that cause damage to property. Three examples are fire, wind-
storm, and theft. In addition to coverage for named perils, each pack-
age policy usually contains four additional types of coverage: property
damage, additional living expenses, personal liability, and medical pay-
ments. Home insurance policies apply to most owner occupied single-
family homes and are modified slightly for apartments and condomini-
ums.

Property Damage

Property damage coverage helps pay for damage to your home and
personal property. Other structures such as tool sheds, detached
garages, houses, and their contents are also covered. You should
check with your agent or your insurance company to determine if the
amount of coverage on other structures is sufficient.

Personal property is the contents of your home and other personal
belongings owned by you or family members who live with you.

Home insurance policies may provide limited coverage for small boats;
however, most home insurance policies do not cover motorized vehi-
cles. You should check with your agent or insurance company to deter-
mine your needs and your policy limits pertaining to your recreational
vehicles and equipment.

Some forms of personal property, such as silverware, computers, guns,
money, expensive antiques and jewelry, have limited coverage under
your homeowner’s policy and may need additional insurance. This cov-
erage can be added to your policy as an endorsement.

You can choose to insure your home and belongings for either replace-
ment cost or actual cash value. These terms are explained in the next
column.

Additional Living Expenses

Most home insurance policies provide additional living expenses that
will pay some expenses if your home is damaged by an insured event
to the extent that you cannot live there while repairs are being made, or
if you are denied access to your home by government order. These
expenses could include limited motel, restaurant, and warehouse stor-
age.

Personal Liability

This coverage protects you against a claim or lawsuit resulting from
(non-auto and non-business) bodily injury or property damage to others
caused by your negligence. This coverage applies to you and all fam-
ily members who live with you. You should check with your agent or
insurance company to determine if the amount of personal liability cov-
erage is sufficient.

Replacement Cost or
Actual Cash Value?
Replacement cost is the amount it would take to replace or
rebuild your home or repair damages with materials of similar
kind and quality, without deducting for depreciation.
Depreciation is the decrease in home or property value since
the time it was built or purchased because of age or wear and
tear.

Many insurers require homeowners to insure their homes for at
least 80% of the replacement cost. If the homeowner fails to
insure for at least that, a penalty is applied to partial losses. For
example, if it would cost $50,000 to replace your home and it is
insured for $40,000 (80%), and a fire causes $25,000 worth of
damage, then your insurance company will pay the full $25,000.

On the other hand, if your $50,000 home is insured for $30,000
and you suffer a $25,000 loss, your insurance company would
pay for only part of the loss and you would have to pay for dam-
ages out-of- pocket. It may therefore be advisable to insure your
home at a minimum of 80% of its replacement cost. Check with
your agent or insurance company to see what is required. You
may wish to insure at 100% of replacement cost so you will have
sufficient coverage in the event of total loss.

Actual Cash Value is the amount it would take to repair or
replace damage to your home after depreciation. For example,
if your roof has a 20-year warranty and is 17 years old, there
would be a depreciation for the age and condition of the roof.

Most standard home insurance policies cover the contents of
your home (i.e., personal belongings) on an actual cash value
basis. Many insurers offer an option for you to insure your
belongings at replacement cost. The premium will be slightly
higher for this coverage; however, you may want to consider the
option.

Whether your home is insured for replacement value or actual
cash value, it is important to keep track of its value. For
instance, the addition of a room, improvements, and yearly infla-
tion all increase the replacement cost of your home, while the
actual cash value of the home may decrease over time.

Check with your agent or insurance company at least once a
year to make sure your policy provides adequate coverage.

Medical Payments

Regardless of who is at fault, this coverage pays medical expenses for
persons accidentally injured on your property by a member of your fam-
ily or by your pets. Medical payments do not apply to your injuries
or those of family members living with you or to activities involv-
ing your at-home business. You should check with your agent or
insurance company to determine if the amount of medical payments
coverage is sufficient.

HOMEOWNER’S INSURANCE
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INSURANCE FORMS
An insurance form is another name for an insurance policy, and
it specifies what perils your home and belongings are insured
against. The following are descriptions of the various insurance
forms available to homeowners, renters, and condominium own-
ers. Not all use these exact terms to describe their home insur-
ance forms; however, the coverage provided will be similar.

Home Insurance
• Basic Form (HO-1) insures your property against the first 11
basic perils shown in the adjacent chart.
• Broad Form (HO-2) covers the 18 perils listed in the chart.
• Special Form (HO-3), the most popular of all homeowner’s
forms, offers a broad range of coverage to owners of single-fam-
ily, owner occupied homes. This form provides comprehensive
coverage on your home and broad named peril coverage on your
contents.

Renter’s Insurance
If you rent an apartment or a house, you are responsible for

liability coverage and for insuring your personal possessions.
Liability coverage protects renters the same as it would if you
were a homeowner. The owner of the property is responsible for
insuring the building and for obtaining his or her own liability cov-
erage.

• Tenants Form (HO-4), or a renter policy, insures your house-
hold contents and personal belongings against the perils includ-
ed in the home insurance Broad Form (HO-2). Like home insur-
ance, it provides coverage for additional living expenses and
includes personal liability protection.

Condominium Insurance
Your condominium association should purchase a policy that

covers the building, including any common walls and grounds,
including liability associated with common  properties. To protect
your contents and interior walls, you may purchase an individual
unit-owner’s policy. This policy is similar to home insurance and
renters’ insurance.

• Condominium Unit-Owner’s Form (HO-6), will cover a unit-
owner who wishes to insure his or her property or to cover any
items not insured by the association’s policy. A unit-owner policy
will also pay for property damage to personal belongings, wall,
floor, and ceiling coverings, and any accessories not originally
installed in the unit. It also provides personal liability protection.
Be sure to check with your condominium association to confirm
your policy covers your property and that there is not a gap (no
coverage) between your own and the condo’s policy.

Remember: Your homeowner’s policy will not cover flood
damage. See page 9 for information on insurance against
flood damage and our consumer alert initiative.

LOSS CHART
KIND OF POLICY LOSSES COVERED

■ Dwelling ■ Contents

Fire or lightning
Loss of property removed from
premises
Windstorm or hail
Explosion
Riot or civil commotion
Aircraft
Vehicles
Smoke
Vandalism and malicious mischief
Theft
Breakage of glass constituting a
part of the building
Falling objects
Weight of ice, snow, sleet
Collapse of building(s) or any part
thereof
Sudden and accidental tearing
apart, cracking, burning, or bulging
of a steam or hot water heating
system or of appliances for heating
water
Accidental discharge, leakage or
overflow of water or steam from
within a plumbing, heating or air-
conditioning system or domestic
appliance
Freezing of plumbing, heating and
air-conditioning systems and
domestic appliances
Sudden and accidental damage
from artificially generated currents
to electrical appliances, devices,
fixtures and wiring (TV and radio
tubes not included)
All perils except flood, earthquake,
war, nuclear accident and others
specified in your policy. Check your
policy for a complete listing of
perils not covered.
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SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING AND CITY OF NEW CASTLE COUNTY OTHER THAN CITY KENT AND SUSSEX COUNTIES
PERSONAL PROPERTY - ANNUAL RATES WILMINGTON PROTECTED SEMI- UN- PROTECTED SEMI- UN-

PROTECTED (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3) (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3)
COMPANY MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME

Allstate Insurance Company 264 292 223 247 262 300 308 331 243 269 286 327 338 364
Atlantic States Insurance Company 245 258 213 224 213 224 292 348 213 224 213 224 292 348
Cumberland Mutual Fire Insurance Company 411 456 283 313 392 435 433 480 476 528 662 735 732 813
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 356 361 330 337 337 356 421 492 409 414 414 430 483 452
Harleysville Insurance 614 646 373 391 504 579 598 692 463 486 629 723 746 863
Keystone Insurance Company 264 289 264 289 294 328 310 340 264 289 294 328 310 340
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 263 288 230 253 263 289 306 339 310 341 353 390 413 457
Lititz Mutual Insurance Company 344 381 254 281 362 417 417 498 254 281 362 417 417 498
Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company 220 244 206 229 260 306 317 344 225 251 283 334 345 376
Standard Fire Insurance Company 333 367 275 302 347 400 376 419 293 322 371 427 401 448
State Farm Fire and Casualty Company** 292 324 292 324 292 324 292 324 397 441 397 441 397 441
United Services Automotible Association 224 248 237 262 338 384 388 464 275 304 392 451 451 539
USAA Casualty Insurance Company 256 284 271 300 379 422 407 532 314 348 441 517 517 619
Westfield Insurance Company 203 225 166 185 192 222 231 255 162 180 188 216 286 249
Windsor-Mount Joy Mutual 308 341 266 299 308 354 370 410 348 391 404 464 486 537

Both frame and masonry homes insured at $100,000 replacement value with $250 deductible; $300,000 liability; $1,000 medical expense.

NW = Not Written
(1) Protected = Within 1,000 feet of a fire hydrant and within 5 miles of a fire company.
(2) Semiprotected = Within 1,000 feet of a fire hydrant or within 5 miles of a fire company.
(3) Unprotected = More than 1,000 feet from a fire hydrant and more than 5 miles from a fire company.
The rates above are those charged as of April 30, 2004.

Premium prices may vary according to the age of your home, its location and its condition. Premiums will also
vary due to any credits or discounts received and any additional coverages selected.

Any questions, please call the Insurance Department’s Consumer Services Division at
(302) 739-6775 or at (800) 282-8611 (in Delaware only).

HOMEOWNER’S INSURANCE Rates
The following sample premiums have been submitted by the insurance companies

selling the most homeowner’s insurance in Delaware.
These sample premiums represent ANNUAL RATES for the most commonly purchased homeowner’s coverages.

CONDOMINIUM OWNERS - PERSONAL CITY OF NEW CASTLE COUNTY OTHER THAN CITY KENT AND SUSSEX COUNTIES
PERSONAL PROPERTY ONLY - ANNUAL RATES WILMINGTON PROTECTED SEMI- UN- PROTECTED SEMI- UN-

PROTECTED (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3) (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3)
COMPANY MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME

Allstate Insurance Company 166 166 166 166 194 194 223 223 166 166 194 194 223 223
Atlantic States Insurance Company 189 211 159 176 159 176 194 245 142 159 142 159 176 224
Cumberland Mutual Fire Insurance Company 111 111 100 100 125 125 137 137 100 100 113 113 124 124
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 264 290 258 284 258 284 310 393 271 298 271 298 325 413
Harleysville Insurance 288 318 178 199 215 272 215 272 231 256 281 354 281 354
Keystone Insurance Company 125 140 125 140 155 192 155 192 125 140 155 192 155 192
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 116 116 116 116 131 131 131 131 131 131 147 147 147 147
Lititz Mutual Insurance Company 115 124 141 154 197 240 227 296 120 132 167 206 193 253
Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company 155 155 155 155 167 167 191 191 155 155 167 167 191 191
Standard Fire Insurance Company 144 150 144 150 169 176 169 176 144 150 169 176 169 176
State Farm Fire and Casualty Company** 164 164 164 164 164 164 164 164 169 169 169 169 169 169
United Services Automobile Association 137 151 137 151 193 236 222 292 137 151 193 236 222 292
USAA Casualty Insurance Company 169 186 169 186 239 292 275 363 169 186 239 292 275 363
Westfield Insurance Company 117 117 91 91 110 110 110 110 79 79 95 95 95 95

` Windsor-Mount Joy Mutual 279 279 279 279 336 336 336 336 366 366 442 442 442 442
Condominium unit owners property insured at cash value of $50,000 with $250 deductible; $300,000 liability; $2,000 medical expense.

TENANTS - PERSONAL PROPERTY ONLY CITY OF NEW CASTLE COUNTY OTHER THAN CITY KENT AND SUSSEX COUNTIES
ANNUAL RATES WILMINGTON PROTECTED SEMI- UN- PROTECTED SEMI- UN-

PROTECTED (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3) (1) PROTECTED (2) PROTECTED (3)
COMPANY MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME MASONRY FRAME

Allstate Insurance Company 130 130 130 130 151 151 173 173 130 130 151 151 173 173
Atlantic States Insurance Company 149 165 124 138 124 138 151 192 111 124 111 124 138 173
Cumberland Mutual Fire Insurance Company 108 108 100 100 122 122 133 133 100 100 110 110 121 121
Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance Company 245 245 240 240 240 240 240 240 251 251 251 251 251 251
Harleysville Insurance 229 252 142 157 172 216 172 216 186 204 224 281 224 281
Keystone Insurance Company 125 138 125 138 152 191 152 191 124 138 152 191 152 191
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company 115 115 115 115 129 129 129 129 118 118 133 133 133 133
Lititz Mutual Insurance Company 93 101 93 101 128 155 147 190 80 88 109 134 125 163
Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Company 140 140 140 140 151 151 172 172 140 140 151 151 172 172
Standard Fire Insurance Company 106 110 106 110 123 128 123 128 106 110 123 128 123 128
State Farm Fire and Casualty Company** 133 133 133 133 133 133 133 133 137 137 137 137 137 137
United Services Automobile Association NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW
USAA Casualty Insurance Company NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW NW
Westfield Insurance Company 58 58 61 61 74 74 74 74 48 48 58 58 58 58
Windsor-Mount Joy Mutual 188 188 188 188 225 225 225 225 245 245 295 295 295 295

Rented house or apartment contents insured at actual cash value of $30,000 with $250 deductible; $300,000 liability; $1,000 medical expense.

*Eligibility for USAA insurance is generally restricted to U.S. military officers, non-commissioned officers and their dependents.
** Rates are based on a $500 deductible.



Be Prepared For Weather-Related Disaster
• Review your existing insurance coverage to make sure it is ade-

quate. Hurricane damage is covered under a standard home-
owner’s/renter’s policy (although many policies contain a spe-
cial hurricane deductible); damage from flooding is generally
not covered. So ask your agent about the National Flood
Insurance Program.

• Learn the facts about flood insurance. You can protect your
home, business, and possessions with the National Flood
Insurance Program (NFIP).

• Make sure you ask your agent about contents coverage as it is
not automatically included with the NFIP building coverage.

• There is a 30-day waiting period before the flood coverage goes
into effect.

• For more information, ask your agent or contact the NFIP at
1-800-611-6123, or visit them at www.fema.gov/nfip on the
Internet.

• Plan now for a future claim. Inventory your personal property,
including all model names and serial numbers. Do not overlook
items you use seasonally or infrequently and store in out-of-the-
way places: special china and silverware, holiday decorations,
summer and winter sports equipment, carpentry tools, and
baby-care furnishings. Attach sales receipts and photograph or
video-tape each room. Store the inventory information off the
premises, in a safe deposit box for example. Keep readily at
hand the telephone numbers of your insurance agent, your
insurance company’s local claims office, and its home office.

Pre-Storm Planning
• Prepare a personal evacuation plan (involve family members).
• Assemble a disaster supplies kit (i.e., first aid kit; canned food

and a nonelectric can opener; water supplies for at least three
days, per person; protective clothing and sturdy shoes; battery-
powered radio, flashlight, and extra batteries; special items for
infants, elderly, or disabled family members; medicine; toi-
letries).

• Prepare for high winds -- protect windows and trim back dead
or weak tree branches.

• Have plenty of cash (and a credit card).
• Make arrangements for pets.
• Fuel car.
• Teach family members how to turn off gas, electricity, and water.

If You Experience Weather Damage…
• Contact your insurance company immediately to report losses.

If you have flood insurance, start by calling your insurance
agent to report your claim. The agent will prepare a Notice of
Loss form and an adjuster will be assigned to assist you. Follow
the instructions given to you by claim personnel.

• Take steps to protect your property from further damage.

• Take notes of your conversations with insurance personnel.
Keep a log of the people you spoke to and when. Ask questions
if you don’t understand instructions. If possible, photograph the
damages.

• Wait for the adjuster to arrive! Do not call anyone to repair or
replace your loss without first getting instructions from your
adjuster. Your insurer’s visual inspection of your loss may be nec-
essary before repairs are undertaken. Making permanent repairs
before the adjuster’s inspection could trigger a denial of your claim.

If Your Weather Related Claim
Seems Unfairly Denied…
• Review the terms of your policy to determine if it covers specific

weather-related problems.

• Appeal to your agent or the insurance company’s claims depart-
ment.

• Contact the Insurance Department. If after hearing from your insur-
ance company you still feel your claim hasn’t been handled prop-
erly, a consumer representative will discuss the matter with your
insurer and assist you in settling your claim within the provisions of
your policy contract.

Watch Out For “Fast-Buck” Artists
You are at your most vulnerable when disaster strikes, so be wary of

people who try to cash in on your loss. Be on your guard for home
repair rip-off artists who overcharge, perform shoddy work and
often leave without finishing the job.

• Deal only with licensed and insured contractors. Contact the Better
Business Bureau at (302) 594-9200 to see if there are any com-
plaints on file about the company you are considering hiring.

• Don’t be talked into participating in a scheme to submit a phony
insurance claim. If someone proposes this to you, help fight insur-
ance fraud -- contact the Insurance Department’s Fraud Prevention
Bureau at 1-800-632-5154.
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The Delaware Insurance Department’s Arbitration Process
The Delaware Department of Insurance is available to provide assistance in resolving
conflicts with insurers through an arbitration process. Consumers who feel their insur-
ance claim or conflict with their insurance carrier has been handled improperly or
denied unfairly may contact the Insurance Department’s Consumer Services Division,
and an investigator will review the case and help resolve the issue(s). If a solution can-
not be reached, the Insurance Department offers a low-cost alternative to litigation –
the arbitration process.

The arbitration process was formed pursuant to Delaware Department of Insurance
Regulation 901 (formerly Regulation 10) in accordance with the directives of the
Delaware Motorists Protection Act (Subchapter 1, Chapter 12, Title 21 Del. C.). Any
insurance company licensed in Delaware is subject to arbitration by the Delaware
Insurance Commissioner. Consumers can file for an arbitration hearing regarding
automobile, homeowners, and health insurance. The consumer and the insurance
company share the cost of arbitration equally. If the consumer wins in arbitration, the
filing fee may be reimbursed as part of the settlement award.

Arbitration is available only after several attempts to resolve the matter informally have
failed. To begin the arbitration process, the consumer will complete a request for arbi-
tration petition. The petition, with supporting documentation and payment of a filing fee,
is submitted to the Department of Insurance Arbitration Secretary. The consumer is
also required to mail a copy of the petition, along with the supporting documentation,
to the insurance company. The insurance company will then respond to the
Department of Insurance. It is important to remember that the arbitration panel may
dismiss, without prejudice, the matter if the petitioner did not attempt to resolve the
matter before filing for arbitration.

Requesting an arbitration hearing is designed to be as easy as possible. Be prepared
to support your case. Maintain all correspondence to and from your insurance
company that explains why you are not satisfied, and keep accurate notes from
phone calls. Make sure you have the figures and documentation to back up your
argument. Upon receiving your completed paperwork, along with your filing fee, the
Arbitration Secretary will process the paperwork and notify all involved parties, via mail,
of the date, time, and place the hearing will be held. Hearings are scheduled in loca-
tions most convenient to the claimant. (Example: A Sussex County resident will not
be required to travel to New Castle County for the hearing.)

Automobile and homeowners insurance hearings are conducted by a three-person
panel (one licensed Delaware attorney and two licensed Delaware insurance
adjusters) who are appointed by the Insurance Commissioner. Each member of the
arbitration panel will have a suitable background or experience relevant to the cases
presented to them. (Example: Automobile cases will have members experienced in
handling automobile claims.)  No member may serve on a panel that would create a
conflict of interest. (Example: If your dispute involves XYZ insurance, no panel mem-
ber presiding over your case would be an employee of XYZ insurance.)

The arbitration panel hears first and third party property and Personal Injury Protection
(PIP) claims for damages resulting from motor vehicle accidents. The arbitration panel
may also hear disputes relating to claims for losses or damages under an insured’s
homeowner’s policy. Arbitration is not an available forum for all disputes. The
Department’s arbitration process is limited to policies issued in this state and motor
vehicles registered in Delaware. The arbitration panel’s jurisdiction does not include
claims against an out-of-state vehicle. The arbitration panel may only rule on the exist-
ing coverage listed in your automobile or homeowner’s policy.

Health insurance arbitration hearings are conducted by a licensed Delaware attorney,
who is also appointed by the Insurance Commissioner. The arbitration hearing attor-
ney may only hear cases where there are disputes based on contractual issues, and
not those determined to be of “medical necessity.” Due to the complex nature of health
insurance arbitrations, any questions regarding the health insurance arbitration pro-
cess should be directed to the Delaware Insurance Department Arbitration Secretary.

The Department of Insurance’s arbitration process is designed to offer a low-cost alter-
native to litigation. You do not need to retain an attorney. The arbitration panel members
study all of the documentation submitted by each party, along with any evidence submit-
ted, and listen to testimony presented. The arbitration panel will then confer privately and
issue a decision. The arbitration decision is legally enforceable. However, decisions may
be appealed and reviewed by the Superior Court in the State of Delaware.

There will be situations when an arbitration decision is not satisfactory to all parties
involved. In these instances, the Delaware Insurance Department’s arbitration deci-
sions can be appealed de novo by either party to the Superior Court (de novo - Latin
for “anew,” which means starting over, as in a trial de novo). An appeal can be filed up
to 30 days from the date of the arbitration panel decision (90 days for homeowners).

If you have questions regarding the arbitration process, please contact the Delaware
Insurance Department Arbitration Secretary at (302) 739-4251. (NOTE: The
Arbitration Secretary is not permitted to answer legal questions.)
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Credit Insurance means insurance sold in connection with a consumer loan trans-
action and covers the debt (and the interest due on the debt) in the event the
debtor becomes unable to pay. Credit insurance is available in the form of credit
life; credit accident; and health (or disability), or creditor-placed insurance.

Credit Life and Credit Accident &
Health (Disability) Coverage
The most commonly sold credit insurance is referred to as credit life or credit
accident & health (or disability) insurance. Credit life insurance pays in the
event of the debtor’s death. Credit accident & health (or disability) insur-
ance covers loan payments due while the debtor is ill or disabled.

A lender may not refuse to give a consumer the loan simply because the
consumer declines to purchase credit life and credit accident & health
insurance.

Creditor-Placed Insurance
Creditor-placed  insurance  (sometimes  called  “force-placed” insurance)  is  purchased
by the creditor, who is the named insured (or “covered person”), after the date of the cred-
it transaction, and protects the creditor against any risk of damage to property serving as
collateral for the loan (such as an automobile). It is purchased according to the terms of
the loan agreement as a result of the debtor’s failure to provide required physical damage
insurance, and the cost of the coverage is charged to the debtor.

Important Consumer Protection
• The purchase of consumer credit insurance is optional.
• Any restrictions upon eligibility of coverage must be fully disclosed.
• A brief description of the coverage must be provided.
• Credit insurance policies come with a 30-day “free look.” Up to 30 days after signing

the contract, consumers can still cancel the policy and are entitled to a full refund of
any premiums paid.

CONSUMER BEWARE
• Creditor-placed insurance will only pay claims to the creditor for physical
damage to your property. IT WILL NOT pay any liability claims made against
you, and it will not pay for any physical damage claims you make. IT WILL NOT
meet the requirements of Delaware’s mandatory automobile insurance law.
• You can avoid the high cost of creditor-placed coverage. By maintaining insur-
ance on your property as required under the loan contract, you will save money.
• If the property securing the loan is an automobile, and you are having trou-
ble finding insurance because you are considered a “high-risk”, contact the
Delaware Insurance Department’s Consumer Services Division, which can
provide you with a list of insurers writing policies for higher-than-standard
risks. While these premiums are high, they may still be lower than premiums
for force-placed insurance.
• The creditor MUST CANCEL creditor-placed coverage and refund a certain
percentage of your premiums (“unearned premiums”) if you give the creditor
proof that you have bought insurance somewhere else or if you pay off the loan.

CREDIT INSURANCE
—VOLUNTARY OR FORCED —  WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW
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PROVIDING INFORMATION
Apart from this Guide, the Insurance Department offers the
following additional publications and listings in print form or via the
Department’s wesite: www.state.de.us/inscom:
• The Guide to Health Insurance for Delaware Senior Citizens
• The Buyer’s Guide to Life Insurance for Delawareans
• A Shopper’s Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance
• Resolving Health Care Disputes -- An Action Kit for Delawareans
• A Buyer’s Guide to Equity-Indexed Annuities
• The News Couldn’t Be Bigger for Small Business: Health Insurance for

Small Employers and Self-Proprietors
• ElderInfo: Facts about the Senior Citizen Health Insurance Counseling

Service
• Listing of Accredited Defensive Driving Programs in Delaware
• Listing of Automobile Insurers Writing Policies in the Non-Standard

Market

PROVIDING ASSISTANCE IN
RESOLVING CONFLICTS WITH INSURERS
If you feel your insurance claim or conflict with your insurance carrier
has been handled improperly or denied unfairly, our consumer repre-
sentatives will review your case and help you solve your issue. If a solu-

WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU

SEEK UNBIASED INFORMATION
• Information is available from a number of unbiased sources.

These sources include public libraries, consumer groups, and
consumer publications.

• Consumers may also obtain a wide variety of information from
the Insurance Department. Consumer Services Representa-
tives are available to answer questions regarding all types of
insurance coverages.

WHERE TO SHOP
• Check newspapers and yellow pages of the telephone direc-

tory for companies and agents in your area.
• Ask your neighbors, relatives, and friends for recommendations

on insurance companies and agents and their experience
regarding pricing and service.

TELEPHONE NUMBERS
Consumer Hotline: 1-800-282-8611 ElderInfo: 1-800-336-9500
Agent Licensing: 1-302-739-4254 Fraud Prevention: 1-800-632-5154

tion cannot be reached, we offer you a low-cost alternative to litigation:
the arbitration process. Arbitration hearings are informal and conducted
by a panel appointed by the Commissioner. They are held at locations
convenient to you. They are inexpensive, with the costs being shared
equally by you and the insurance company.

FILE AN INSURANCE COMPLAINT VIA THE INTERNET
One of the primary roles of the Delaware Insurance Department is to
protect consumers from illegal insurance practices by  insuring that
insurance companies, adjusters, appraisers, producers (more common-
lyreferred to as agents) and brokers that operate in Delaware act in
accordance with state insurance laws. Consumers may contact the
Insurance Department to file a complaint against an insurance compa-
ny, adjuster, appraiser, producer/agent or broker vie the Internet at:
www.state.de.us/inscom/complaintform.htm

EVERYTHING WE DO, WE DO FOR YOU …
Apart from providing you with information on how to get the best deal
for your money and apart from helping you when you have a conflict
with your insurance company or your agent, we at the Insurance
Department ensure that you receive reliable insurance coverage at rea-
sonable rates. To learn more about how we protect your interest, please
contact us or visit our website.

SMART SHOPPING FOR ALL TYPES OF INSURANCE

FOR YOUR PROTECTION
• Before signing an application for any insurance coverage, call

the Insurance Department and verify that the company and the
agent you are dealing with is licensed. It is illegal for any com-
pany or individual to sell insurance without a license.

• If you are contacted by an unlicensed company or agent, call
the Insurance Department immediately so that prompt regula-
tory action can be taken. By doing so, you may protect some-
one less knowledgeable than you from being victimized.

• Read the policy and make certain that you understand its con-
tents. If you have questions, contact your insurance agent or
company for clarification.

• Keep your policy in a safe place and know the name of your
insurer.

No one wants to pay more for their insurance than they absolute-
ly must. The only way you can make certain you are not paying
too much is to shop around. The key to comparison shopping is
to know what insurance coverage you need before you start and

then to find out how much those coverages will cost from a num-
ber of insurers. Comparison shopping takes time but will save you
money since different companies charge different rates for identi-
cal products and services.

www.state.de.us/inscom



BEWARE:
You can be fined up to $10,000 for each act of civil insurance fraud,
and you can be charged with a felony for criminal insurance fraud.

Auto Insurance
Application Fraud

• Sometimes known as rate evasion, is telling your insurance compa-
ny that your car is primarily used and garaged in Delaware, when it is
not.
Example: You are a Delaware beach property owner and actually live
in another state, yet you list your Delaware beach property as your
full-time residence so you can get a lower premium.

• Failing to disclose prior claims and/or accidents when required to do
so.

• Failing to list all eligible drivers in a household on the application.
• Obtaining insurance on a vehicle on which another person will be the

principal driver because that driver either cannot obtain coverage
elsewhere or would have to pay higher premiums. Example: Some
drivers may be excluded from driving certain vehicles in a household.
This must be clarified at the time of the application for an auto policy.

Claims Fraud
• Overstating the cost of repairs or replacement parts from an auto col-

lision, or theft claim.
• Submitting altered receipts for any of the above items.
• Claiming false or exaggerated injuries to obtain lost wages or any

other injury settlement resulting from an accident.
• Overstating lost wages.

Life and Health Insurance
Application Fraud

• Intentionally failing to provide prior medical history which may affect
your insurability, when required.

• Omitting any required information which has a bearing on your insur-
ability or rate structure.

Claims Fraud
• Submitting double claims for the same services to the same insur-

ance company.
• Submitting double claims for the same services to different insurance

companies when you are entitled to only one coverage. This does not
mean that you may not be entitled to supplemental coverage. Some
policies will cover those costs not covered by the primary policy. You
should check with your insurance company.

Property and Casualty Insurance (i.e. Homeowner’s)
Application Fraud

• Intentionally failing to provide prior claims history which may affect
your coverage.

• Failing to disclose existing damage.

Claims Fraud
• Overstating the cost of repairs or replacement when filing a claim for

property damage or theft.
• Altering receipts for any of the above items.
• Creating a false receipt for the above items.
• Claiming false or exaggerated injuries to secure lost wages as a

result of an accident.

DON’T BECOME A VICTIM OF FRAUD –
HELP US STOP FRAUD IN ITS TRACKS:
It’s easy to protect yourself and help us. Just follow these simple rules:
• When buying insurance or obtaining any services, remember, “if it

looks too good to be true, it probably is.”
• When dealing with someone you do not know, spend the time to

check their credentials with the Insurance Department before you
give them any money. It takes very little time to call our toll free num-
ber, 800-282-8611, where Department staff is always happy to check
on the status of an agent, agency, or insurance company for you. If
you have any questions about the policy or if the person selling you
the policy or handling your claim appears reluctant to respond to your
questions, contact the Insurance Department before signing any doc-
uments.

AVOID FRAUD AFTER AN ACCIDENT:
• ALWAYS have the police respond to the accident scene while all par-

ties are still there. Late reported or un-reported accidents are difficult
to investigate.

• Make sure that you get complete identification from the other
driver(s), including their driver’s license, vehicle registration and insur-
ance card, and get the names of all occupants in their vehicle(s). Ask
everyone individually, if they are all right and write down exactly what
they tell you.

• When you get home, immediately take pictures of the damage to your
vehicle and keep them along with the other information that you have
obtained at the accident scene.

• Inform your insurance agent as soon as possible.
• If you are in a minor accident and someone gives you the name of a

doctor or lawyer who can “make you money” or if a body shop offers
to inflate your damage estimate to include your deductible, don’t just
walk away and forget it. Call the Insurance Department’s Fraud
Prevention Bureau.

Remember, insurance fraud is costing us our hard-earned money
and we can stop it if we work together.

If you have any questions concerning insurance fraud or would
like to report fraud to the Insurance Fraud Prevention Bureau
please call:

1-800-632-5154 toll free in Delaware or
(302) 739-4257
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Don’t Commit It, Help Us Fight Insurance Fraud and Reduce Your Insurance Premiums.

The Insurance Fraud Prevention Statute, initiated by Commissioner Donna Lee H. Williams, demonstrates Delaware’s commitment to get
tough on insurance fraud. The Insurance Department’s Fraud Prevention Bureau receives hundreds of complaints each year involving all
types of insurance fraud. Efforts of the Bureau so far have saved millions of dollars in reserves that would have otherwise been paid in
fraudulent claims (raising the cost of insurance for all of us).




