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PROCEDURE FOR REDOMESTICIATION FROM DELAWARE AND RETAINING 

CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY AS A FOREIGN COMPANY 
 

1. Letter addressed to Linda Sizemore, CPA, CFE, Director of Company 
Regulation, notifying the Department of the company’ intent to redomesticate and 
requesting the Department’s no objection to the proposed redomestication.  
 

2. Letter or documentation from the new state advising no objection to the company 
filing an application for redomestication in that state.  

 
3. Name, address, phone number, fax number and e-mail address of the contact person at 

the Department of the new proposed state or commonwealth.  
 

4. The Department will issue a Findings and Order approving the redomestication upon 
receipt of approval documents from the new state.  
 

THE FOLLOWING DOUCMENTS ARE REQUIRED IF THE COMPANY TO ISSUE A 
CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY:  
 

1. Return Original Delaware Certificate of Authority issued as a foreign admitted insurer. If 
the original cannot be located, an officer of the company must state before a Notary 
Public that the original is lost, and if ever found, it will be returned to the Delaware 
Department of Insurance. (Affidavit of Lost Certificate of Authority) 

 
2. Certified copies of Amended Articles of Incorporation  

 
3. Copy of Amended By-Laws, if applicable, certified by the Secretary of the Company.  

 
4. Certificate of Compliance from new state 

 
5. Certificate of Deposit from new state.  

 
6. Certified company of the Certificate of Transfer filed with the Delaware Secretary of 

State’s Office, Division of Corporations.  
 

7. Complete and return Delaware forms 3P, D-1, D-2.  
 

8. Check in amount of $120 ($100 fee for issuance of the new Certificate of Authority; $10 
for filing Amended Articles of Incorporation and $10 for filing amended By-Laws.) 
 

9. The company may request release of the statutory deposit in Delaware.  Delaware law, 
18 Del. C. §1512(b), requires advertising for four (4) weeks prior to the release of 
statutory deposits.  After completion of the advertising, and the Department has not 
received any objection to the release, the bank holding the securities will be notified to 
close the account and wire all funds as instructed.  
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EXCEPTION:  If the company is licensed to transact workers’ compensation and surety 
business, they must maintain in  this State special deposits for Delaware policyholders 
only (workers’ compensation: $100,000 and Surety:  $10,000). 
 

 
If you have any questions, please contact Danielle Watson at 302-674-7344 or 
Danielle.Watson@state.de.us.  
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